168 hours review

on thursday night, brad tempted me with this little gem.

billy’s chilies is a beer flavored with 5 kinds of spicy peppers! he knew i’d like it because at the great taste of madison (a HUGE beer festival) last summer, my favorite beer of the day with a jalapeno beer! well, we decided that it was delicious, but we should probably have shared one…. it’s hard to finish a full-sized spicy beer like that!

*****

st. louis bread co. (aka panera)

brad took me to st. louis bread co. for lunch yesterday! it was mm mm good! i had half of a mediterranean sandwich and a small cup of veggie soup with a side of bread.

and a diet pepsi on the side.

i hardly ever drink soda, but sometimes it just sounds so good!

brad also snagged us samples of this amazing brownie for dessert.

so gooey and chocolately. delish.

*****

i’ve been promising you guys this for a couple days now, so i guess it’s time for me to stop being a tease. 😉 i finished reading 168 hours last week, so i want to share my thoughts about it with you.

first of all – i loved this book. laura vanderkam is one wise lady.

the basic premise of the book is that everyone, yes everyone, has the same 168 hours in their week. so saying one person has so much time to accomplish everything they do, but that you don’t have the same kind of time, is a little ridiculous. we all have the same amount of time – we just differ in how we choose to spend it.

vanderkam gives lots of tips for prioritizing your 168 hours and spending time on things that you enjoy and that are your core competencies.

there are also a couple of “assignments” throughout the book. the first one is to keep a log of one 168-hour block of your life (one week). she gives a template on her website to use, which breaks a week down into half-hour chunks. i did this, but i found that i had many half-hours that were split in half, so i made my own template breaking my week into 15-minute blocks of time. this was such an enlightening activity. i, as i’m sure many people are, was shocked at how much time i spend doing things that i really don’t care a whole lot about – time wasters.

the book is broken into 4 parts:

1. your 168 hours: this is where you examine how you spend your 168 hours and figure out what your core competencies are. (core competency = a skill that you excel in). you should spend your time on your core competencies and things you enjoy.

2. at work: this section focuses on finding the right job for you and talks about ways to accomplish the most during the hours you are at work.

3. at home: this part discusses things like cleaning, organizing, chores. the author suggests outsourcing what you can from this category, unless these are your core competencies. in my type-a ways, i actually enjoy cleaning and organizing my apartment, so i wouldn’t try to outsource much of this.

4. 168 hours: day by day: this part talks about what to do when you figure all of the above out. vanderkam goes through several examples of people’s 168-hour logs and gives advice on areas to cut down on and how to rearrange commitments to maximize your hours.

i highly recommend this book. after reading it, i am much more aware of how i spend my time. i have found myself being more productive at work and asking myself if taking that 15 minute facebook/twitter/blog break is the best use of my 168 hours. now don’t get me wrong, since social networking is high on my list of interests, it’s ok if i devote a sizeable chunk of my 168 hours to that. but it’s not a good thing to spend time that i plan to be devoted to work or quality time with my fiance, on social networking.

this book teaches you to prioritize your time! i plan to re-read it again to get every bit of wisdom i can out of it. (and yes, i do consider that a good use of about 3 hours of my 168 hours in one week!).

*****

30 day challenge: day 26

today i have to post a photo of something that means a lot to me. well, i’m kind of taking the easy way out on this one:

[it was so hard to get a good photo of capone last night!]

my little family means so much to me!

i love brad and capone so much. being with them makes me so excited for our future together! ❤

i can’t wait!

*****

have you read 168 hours?

obviously, i highly recommend it!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in st. louis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 168 hours review

  1. I haven’t read it but it sounds great! I love the pictures of your family:) and that brownie looks to die for!

  2. Briana says:

    I have not read that book, but it sounds great!

    Pepper beer?!? Sounds interesting.

  3. awww so cute 🙂 pretty dress!!

  4. Priyanka says:

    This book sounds great, I want to read it!

  5. cbrady3 says:

    YAY for calling it breadco:) I get that same meal there often!
    And I can’t wait to have a beer tonight…craving it badly!

  6. eatspinlive says:

    That brownie looks SO amazing! 🙂 And your little family is so cute! You all look so happy! I have never heard of this book, but it sounds really wonderful! Since I finished reading Eat, Pray, Love I have been looking for a new book and I think I might have to just pick this one up! Hope you have a great weekend girl!

  7. You’re so pretty! What a precious little family 🙂

  8. I love that last picture of the 3 of you. So sweet. You all look so happy.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

