what i ate [for the second half of] wednesday

wiaw

and actually, i guess this is really what i ate for the second half of tuesday, since it’s what i ate yesterday, but oh well!

i forgot to photograph my breakfast and lunch, which is ok, because you’ve all seen my hot cereal for breakfast and chobani, veggies, and hummus for lunch before! ← i’m totally a creature of habit if you haven’t realized that already.

dinner was pretty tasty though, and i was not expecting it to be. it was part of operation-eat-my-pantry (every time i type pantry, i type panty first…). i made a quick tuna salad with just mustard (3 varieties!) because i’m out of mayo, plain greek yogurt, and plain yogurt. i also chopped up a bit of red onion to add to it.

i served it with a big handful of spinach, cooked lasagna noodles broken up and topped with pesto, and a bit of shredded parmesan cheese.

i’m calling this dish tuna surprise. what’s the surprise?!? well, i also had a can of sardines that i’ve been avoiding eye contact with in my pantry for a long time now. so i mashed them up in with the tuna! i didn’t even notice them…

to go with dinner, i also opened this beer.

it was really tasty, but after a couple sips i decided to go to the gym, so i put it back in the fridge. i hope it’s still good tonight!

after dinner i decided to hit up the gym for some biggest loser! i spent an hour on the elliptical sweating my booty off, and then headed to the treadmill for the second half of the show. i walked one mile, ran 3, and walked 1, for a total of about 5 miles!

after my workout, i came home and had a quick protein shake.

and a couple of the roasted chickpeas i made yesterday!

perfect post-workout snack!

p.s. did anyone else cry during the biggest loser last night? i felt like a fool crying at the gym, but it was so sad at the end! [i don’t want to be a spoiler, in case ppl haven’t watched it yet, so that’s all i’m saying!]

*****

30 day challenge: day 23

i have to be honest, i’m kind of looking forward to the end of this challenge. i like writing about what i want to write about! it’s definitely kept me committed though.

today’s topic is to post a photo of my favorite book.

this was really hard for me because i LOVE to read! i finally narrowed it down to the other boleyn girl by philippa gregory.

historical fiction is my absolute favorite genre to read, and the other boleyn girl and the other 16th century tudor books by phillipa gregory are some of my favorites. i also highly recommend: the constant princess, the boleyn inheritance, the queen’s fool, the virgin’s lover, and i just learned on that website that phillipa gregory has two 16th century tudor books i haven’t read yet: the other queen and the wise woman. i can’t wait to read them!

also, if you like historical fiction at all and have only seen the movie, please go read the book. they cut out so much of the book’s great plot for the movie! i was so disappointed after i watched the movie. and i know, the movie is never as good as the book, but this one was not even close!

*****

what’s your favorite book?

anyone have a good historical fiction book to recommend?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to what i ate [for the second half of] wednesday

  1. hurray for roasted chickpeas!!! i just ate the last of mine. need more!!

  2. Briana says:

    I LOVE historical fiction!! Absolutely my favorite kind of literature!

    My favorite book (which happens to be historical fiction as well) is called “The Final Solution” by Michael Chabon. It is about a retired detective who is forced to solve a WWII crime after meeting a little boy who escaped a Nazi camp with his German speaking parrot. It is a quick read (less than 200 pages I think) but so wonderfully written, I have read it several times. Highly recommend!

  3. Dorry says:

    I love your magic bullet cup! I use mine every morning. 🙂 And I haven’t roasted chickpeas in months – thanks for the reminder! I’m not a big reader, but I’m trying to change that and have challenged myself to a book a month. Right now I’m reading Born to Run, which is fascinating!

    • Sarah says:

      i haven’t read born to run, but i’ve seen it all over the blog world.

      i’m obsessed with my magic bullet! i use it almost daily too!

  4. I loved that book too. And, like you, was very disappointed in the movie. I’m reading Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert right now. It’s interesting and well written.

  5. I give you so much credit for going to the gym after dinner…I don’t think I could do that!!!

  6. Jess says:

    I love historical fiction, it’s definitely my favorite!

  7. I’ve been DYING to try and like sardines! this may be the ticket to eating those suckers! =) Thanks for linking up! my eats were from tuesday too!

    fav book? ahhhh that’s a tough one….

    A Wrinkle in Time? =) i’m such a toddler! haha

  8. Kristina says:

    Pesto and pasta sauce-omg I love that combo!

  9. I haven’t made roasted chickpeas in a long time – you’ve inspired me!
    P.S. I just posted the winner of my granola giveaway, and I think you’ll want to check it out! 😉

    • Sarah says:

      this was my first time roasting chickpeas – i learned that i need to pay close attention to them in the oven! they got a little crispy…

      i’m so excited that i won your giveaway! 🙂

  10. KT says:

    I love historical fiction AND Philippa Gregory! Have you read her two newest books, The Red Queen and The White Queen, about the War of the Roses/Cousins’ War? They are really good and definitely some of my new favorites 🙂

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

