on a roll!

i was so so so excited for breakfast yesterday!

want to know why???

i had an [almost] empty peanut butter jar! since i’m out of oats, i had bob’s red mill hot 10 grain cereal in a jar. also known as brmhtgciaj! hmm, maybe that acronym won’t catch on…. i made the cereal with a mashed banana and chocolate almond breeze (the only kind of milk i have right now!). i topped it with a scoop of dark chocolate dreams and frozen blueberries!

*****

lunch

lunch was equally delicious. it was an apple, a lemon chobani, and some carrots and celery sticks with roasted garlic hummus.

enjoyed with water and tea!

*****

snack

my afternoon snack was about 5 pickles with a side of laughing cow cheese.

seriously. pickles + cheese is where it’s at. so tasty!

*****

dinner

for dinner i had beets with goat cheese (unphotographed) and some of my delicious snow day bean soup!

as part of project-eat-up-my-pantry, i decided to thaw two kinds of soup i have in my freezer for dinners this week! this one froze really well. πŸ™‚

i also made some of angela from oh she glowssalt & vinegar roasted chickpeas (trying to use up the bag of chickpeas in my pantry – check!).

so of course i had to try a couple of these as well!

*****

wedding happenings

on saturday, i checked off a couple “big” things from my wedding checklist! πŸ™‚ brad and i were at home in manitowoc, so on friday i called our wedding florist and asked if she could meet on saturday to make decisions about our wedding flowers. it was the best meeting i could have imagined. i went with my mom and brad’s mom (brad opted to stay home and watch basketball…). our florist was so helpful and she took all of the information i told her i liked (see what i like here) and came up with a great plan.Β  i left feeling so so so excited about our wedding flowers and reception centerpieces.

i don’t want to give away all of the details because i want some surprises at the wedding, but here’s a hint of some flowers we’re using!

blue/purple orchids

white mini calla lilies

green button mums

green hyperium berries

after our meeting with the florist, we headed to hobby lobby to do some browsing for inspiration for a couple things for centerpieces. we have a great plan for what we’re going to do. i’m pumped! but, if anyone has any suggestions for a website where i can order pillar candles for cheap, i’d appreciate the tip!

andddd…. we dragged brad away from the television to go choose tuxedos! we picked a spiffy calvin klein tux for all of the groomsmen, ushers, and fathers to wear. we ended up choosing one of the looks i proposed when i asked for your opinions! any guesses to what we chose?

*****

30 day challenge: day 22

today i have to post a picture of something that i wish i was better at. well, there are lots of things i wish i was better at. i think the one that i really REALLY always wish i was better at is….

…dancing. i do not have very good rhythm and it really takes quite a bit of liquid encouragement for me to get my dancing shoes on. brad likes to dance, but i usually feel too self conscious of my “moves” to dance in public very often! i’m not opposed to private dance parties in the living room though…! πŸ˜‰

*****

are you a good dancer?

have you ever tried pickles with cheese?

seriously, try it. then come back and thank me!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to on a roll!

  1. I love your dream mug. Very cute!

    and no…I’m not that great of a dancer. But it doesn’t stop me from doing it. I am constantly wanting to bust a move.

  2. I’ve never tried pickles with cheese, but those salt & vinegar chickpeas are the bomb!!

  3. yay for wedding successes!!!! love all those flours πŸ™‚ and roasted chickpeas are one of my absolute favorite snacks! pickles and cheese, however, sound terribly gross to me πŸ™‚ probably because pickles make me gag!

  4. and clearly i have food on the brain this morning since i just spelled flowers flours. whoops!

    • Sarah says:

      haha, it’s ok! i always have food on the brain! πŸ™‚

      how can you not like pickles?!? ahh, they’re so delicious! i probably would have grossed you out yesterday then. i could NOT stop eating them!

  5. Dorry says:

    I love your flower choices! Beautiful!

  6. KT says:

    Look at you go! Good job on wedding and pantry cleaning progress πŸ™‚

    I am not much of a dancer although I wish I was! Are you and Brad going to take dance lessons before your wedding? We didn’t get to (J was in Omaha, I was in St. Louis for the 8 weeks before, during and after the wedding) but it sounds like it would be fun!

    • Sarah says:

      we’re not going to take dance lessons, even though i’d love to! we’re not going to do anything fancy for our first dance, and with my big old dress, i think i’ll be ok to dance since everyone knows it’s hard to dance in a wedding dress – so if i look like a fool i’ll blame it on that! πŸ˜‰

  7. So how were the chickpeas? Do tell….

    Pickles, yes. Cheese, yes. Together, uh, not so much. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      the chickpeas were pretty good! they ended up burning a bit, so i bet they’re absolutely delicious if you cook them properly! πŸ™‚

  8. Kristen says:

    So, any kind of cheese with pickles? I am on a major pickle kick right now (like eating at least a jar a week) and different combos would be helpful! Made Caitlin’s baked fried pickles and they were fabulous – and probably would also be pretty good with cheese!

    • Sarah says:

      oh yum – i didn’t make the baked pickle fries yet but i really want to! i’m not sure if pickles work with ANY kind of cheese, but i’ve had them with laughing cow cheese (light swiss & light garlic + herb), cheddar, swiss, gouda, american and a lot more and i’ve never disliked it! πŸ™‚

  9. Cait says:

    i love this sarah πŸ™‚ how lovely pictures!! I love you choice in flowers as well! I used to be a dancer a few years ago ha πŸ˜‰ I can teach you!

  10. I love dancing! Don’t know if I’m necessarily good, but I enjoy it. haha And I like pickles and cheese…but together it sounds strange…haha

    • Sarah says:

      i know it sounds weird to have pickles and cheese together, but i’ve been eating it forever! i used to make pickle + cheese sandwiches for lunch in middle school all the time!

  11. Oh my gosh, I can’t wait to hear more about the wedding!! Those flowers look like they’ll be absolutely gorgeous, too.

    I definitely haven’t had cheese and pickles. I love pickles, though! Just not a fan of the cheese half. πŸ˜›

    • Sarah says:

      i can’t imagine not liking cheese!?! i guess i’m true wisconsin girl. πŸ˜‰

      you’ll definitely hear more wedding stuff as we get closer to the day! i’ve been obsessed with planning lately.

  12. Kristina says:

    how funny is it that an empty nut butter jar can be so exciting?
    I would consider myself to be able to bustamove!

  13. oh man, I remember my meeting with the florist! I had no idea so many flowers existed – it was a learning experience for me!

    • Sarah says:

      me too! thankfully, my mom used to work in a flower shop, so she REALLY helped me! she even had some great suggestions that our florist didn’t think of! πŸ™‚

  14. I love all the wedding stuff:) I am not a great dancer at all! I too have no rhythm! Watching Dancing with the Stars always makes me want to take ballroom dancing classes, one day!

  15. HIGHLY suggest the tye dye blue and purple orchids and the green berries! actually all of those flowers are amazing!!!!!! You’re a pro at this! =)

    pickles and cheese eh? ok i’ll try it! =)

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

