monday minis + 50 years!

hi friends! i’m back! see, this is why i shouldn’t skip blogging for two days. now i feel like i have so much to catch up on!

since it’s monday, i want to talk about my monday mini goals! first, let’s check in from last week:

• move more. apparently the every single day exercise kind of goal didn’t work for me. i’m just going to make an effort to be more active in general and hopefully do the shred and get running this week! check! i didn’t exercise a LOT, but i definitely improved over my previous couple weeks!

• call florist and make appointment. i really need to meet with our wedding florist to figure out our flowers. step one = making the appointment! double check – not only did a make an appointment, i met with the florist on saturday and figured out our order!

• finish reading 168 hours. i put the book on the back burner because of my research proposal. now that i’m done with that i can finish the book! i did this one too! i loved it. i’m definitely going back and re-reading parts of it, but i plan to have a review of the book for you this week.

• wear a different outfit each day. this one is kind of embarrassing, but i’ve been wearing the same jeans and sweatshirt several times a week lately. i guess it’s just a combination of an end of winter clothing funk and the fact that i don’t like how a lot of my clothes fit right now. hopefully paying attention to mixing it up will help me with this! i did ok on this one, but not perfect. i had a couple of sweatshirt days, but i did wear different outfits than i usually do on most days this week. some progress is good, right!?

and now my goals for this week:

◊ finish research proposal presentation. i have to present my research proposal to my committee next monday (march 28) and then defend it to pass my second prelim exam to become a dissertator.

do week 1 of the one hundred push-ups program for the pipes challenge. do day 1 today, day 2 on wednesday, and day 3 on friday and keep track of it in my iphone app!

◊ call the church we’re getting married in. i need to make appointments with our pastor for our last 2 pre-marriage meetings and ask a couple of questions to get answered for our florist.

◊ run 10 miles this week. i’ve been trying to get back into running a bit more, but i haven’t been having much success with it. 10 miles in a week is a jump up from the maybe 3-6 i’ve been doing recently. this is probably going to be the biggest challenge of the week.

i think that’s enough to keep me busy for the week! 🙂 i’m enjoying making these mini goals each week. i write the goals on a post-it and keep in in my planner so i see it each day as i’m working on my daily to-do’s. it just helps me stay focused and to remember my goals!

*****

also, i want to wish my momma a very happy 50th birthday!!!

i already talked about how amazing my mom is last week, but i have to say it again. my mom is awesome! i can’t believe she’s 50. no one thinks she looks or acts 50! she’s got such a young spirit and personality. i want to be like her when i grow up!

happy birthday mom! i love you!!

*****

do you have any goals for this week?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in organization and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to monday minis + 50 years!

  1. I’ve seen this pipes challenge everywhere–I’m gonna have to go figure out what exactly it is.

    My goals are to mark off some lists for the start of nursing school.

  2. awwwww happy birthday to your mom!!!!! =)

    I need to know more about this push-up challenge. I need supertoned arms like YESTERDAY! haha.

    doing SHRED today! whoohooo!

  3. Aww, happy birthday to your mama. Good luck with your busy week!

  4. Dorry says:

    I love your goals! I think it’s a great idea to put them out there. My goals have to do with organizing our new home – we just moved yesterday. And lots of foam rolling and yoga because I have a race on Sunday. And sleep! I’m making it a goal to get 8 hours a night. 🙂

  5. I know you’ve probably mentioned this, but where is your wedding?
    We have our tasting and florist appointment next Tuesday! I’m really excited!

    • Sarah says:

      yay for wedding planning! 🙂 we haven’t done our tasting yet – we’re waiting til brad graduates.

      we’re getting married in manitowoc, wi – our hometown!

  6. good luck this week! sounds like you have some good goals 🙂

  7. Jessica says:

    Happy Birthday to your mom!! My goal this week is to incorporate more speedwork into my weekly running plans. It’s time for me to get speedy!

  8. Your mom is beautiful! Happy Birthday to her! 🙂

  9. Kristina says:

    Yay happy bday to your mom!!!!!!

  10. awww, Happy B-day Mom! I’ve totally been guilty of the wearing jeans multiple days in a row thing! : )

  11. I love roasted chickpeas! I also love how you edit your pictures. They all come out so well.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

