so many activities

hey guys! whew, yesterday was a whirlwind! i kicked my to-do list’s ass! ๐Ÿ™‚

yesterday’s eats were pretty kick-ass too! ๐Ÿ™‚ i started with a delicious smoothie!

and then had another smoothie for lunch!

both had half a frozen banana, a big handful of spinach. smoothie number 1 had frozen blueberries and number 2 had frozen mixed berries/cherries. both had almond milk and protein powder! my lunch smoothie also had a generous tablespoon ofย  pb & co dark chocolate dreams!

dinner was the only time all day i was on theme with st. patrick’s day. i made green pasta!

otherwise known as broken up lasagna noodles (bc i didn’t have any other noodles!) with pesto and a bit of freshly grated parmesan. it hit the spot! i followed that up with a new to me chobani flavor!

the only one of the new chobani’s i had tried before now was the lemon one, which i LOVE, but i’ve got to say, i am a huge fan of the black cherry too! ๐Ÿ™‚

*****

surprises

i also had two packages on my doorstep yesterday. and both are super exciting!

package number 1 was from j.crew. the main item was a bridesmaid dress for my friend’s wedding this summer.. the rest i got for FREE because they were on final sale and there was a great deal last week when i ordered!

i got this striped shirt and socks! i didn’t really need them, but i had to add $17 to my order to get free shipping. incidentally, my shipping was $15 originally, so when i added the extra $15 of merchandise to get the free shipping special, i ended up paying the exact same amount to get the shirt + socks as i would have if i didn’t get them. i love good deals!!!

*

package number 2 was also quite exciting. i won a popcorners giveaway from jenn a week or two ago. and i got my prize!!! first, lol at the box.

crazy old man!

i was so excited about this package!

i got one full-sized bag and one snack-sized bag of each of 5 flavors: kettle, butter, sea salt, cheesy jalapeno, and white cheddar! so much deliciousness! i had a really hard time choosing which to try first, but i ended up choosing cheesy jalapeno!

mmm. they were NOT what i was expecting. i was imagining them more like pop chips. instead, they were very similar to any “regular” chips! i think i’m hooked.

*****

pipes challenge

also, i have an announcement to make! a while ago i participated in morgan’s 7 day vegan challenge and loved it. so of course, when she announced a new challenge, i was in! allow me to introduce you to the pipes challenge!

this is how the challenge is going to work: it starts on monday (march 21) and goes for 6 weeks. the point of the challenge is to do whatever arm strength challenge you decide is best for you. morgan decided to do the 100 pushups challenge, and i think i’m going to join in!

now, i’ve got to say, i know that upper body strength is a weakness of mine. when i do the 30 day shred, i have a hard time on some of the moves with only 3 pound weights! so this is really going to be tough for me. i’m not sure that i’ll be able to do 100 pushups by the end of the 6 weeks. honestly, i will be super pumped to break 20 pushups – if i got to 50 i would be ecstatic!! ๐Ÿ™‚

for now, i’m preparing for the challenge. i downloaded the iphone app to keep up with each day’s program.

and i took “before” photos. my plan is to give an update on how the program is going each monday for the 6 weeks. this monday i’ll let you all know my baseline pushup ability and show you my before photos! i’m so excited about the challenge. i’m looking forward to increasing my upper body strength and *hopefully* gaining some definition in my arms to get them started on getting into wedding dress shape!

*****

30 day challenge: day 18

the task today is to post a photo of your biggest insecurity. i have to admit, i know this is not necessarily what this prompt is talking about, but my mind went straight to my body. what part is my BIGGEST insecurity? honestly, i don’t know. i am really not happy with the way my body looks right now. i’m the heaviest i’ve ever been and i don’t feel comfortable. also, i know my wedding is coming up soon (5.5 months to go) and i do NOT want to look like this on my wedding day!

so, sadly, i think i’m just going to have to say that my body is my biggest insecurity.

[this photo is from 2 summers and about 15 lbs ago…]

now, because i don’t like to leave a post off on that note, some things that i’m NOT particularly insecure about:

โ™ฅ school – i know i’m smart and a hard worker. i do get nervous about things like my preliminary exams, but in general, i’m confident in my ability to learn and do well in classes.
โ™ฅ public speaking – again, i get nervous when i have to present, but i know i can hold my own in front of an audience, speak clearly and deliberately. no um’ing every second here.
โ™ฅ my relationships with friends, family, and loved ones. i know the people i count on love me and that i’m there for them when i need to be too.

that’s enough. just wanted to end on a positive today! plus, it’s FRIDAY! ๐Ÿ™‚

*****

today is a furlough day, so i don’t have to go into the office. plus, brad got here late last night. he’s meeting with some chiropractors again (and i’m crossing my fingers that a contract will officially be signed!!) and then we’re going to our home town for the weekend!

we have big plans to take care of some wedding stuff, brad is going to watch lots of basketball, some hot tub sitting, lots of snuggling with my mom’s puppies, and celebrating my mom’s 50th birthday!! it’s going to be a busy weekend.

*****

did you celebrate st. patricks day yesteday?

not me – still a little scarred from the craziness of last year’s celebration!

what is something you are secure of yourself in?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to so many activities

  1. I’m super insecure when it comes to public speaking… and my non-toned arms…. and my KNEES! ack! hate them!

    hooray for popcorners!!!!! The jalapeno was better than a dorito eh? sooo addictive! โค and yay no MSG!!!!

    WAY TO GO with your to do list! told you that you'd own it =)

  2. Briana says:

    I didn’t really celebrate St. Patty’s other than drinking a green smoothie! No green beer for me this year!

    I’m insecure about my skin. I’ve had acne and rosacea in the past and only recently has it started to get better. It’s definitely tough to deal with, but I REALLY like that you listed things you are NOT insecure about.. that’s such a good way of thinking of it.

    • Sarah says:

      i’ve had skin troubles too. i finally got my acne on my face under control, but i still have problems with breakouts on my back – i understand how hard that is to deal with.

  3. I’m a little lame so I did celebrate St. Patrick’s day but I did it by wearing green, making treats to take to the office, making soda bread last night, and eating it with some veggie stew! I’m secure in my relationships as well! I think it might be the best thing to be secure in! I hope you have a great weekend!

  4. that was quite a to do list! you rock. i also love that you make lists as long as mine. good luck with the pushup challenge! Inspired RD was just doing a lunges challenge i think. you could do both to get arms and legs! you’ve got plenty of time to rock the workouts before the wedding. and remember, you’re beautiful just the way you are ๐Ÿ™‚ happy weekend!! ps…fingers crossed!

    • Sarah says:

      i started doing the 300 lunges challenge a couple weeks ago! brad told me he could tell my leg muscles were bigger already!! and you know i love a good to-do list!! i was so proud of checking off everything last thursday!!

  5. Dorry says:

    I’ve been on a smoothie kick, too! And I also love good shopping deals – can’t resist them. I love that you listed the things that do make you feel secure. I feel secure in my marriage and in my relationship with my family. I also feel secure with my new job and the relationships I have with my new co-workers. Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. I love your to-do list. ๐Ÿ™‚ I LOVE to-do’s so much that sometimes I’ll add something to my list even if I’ve already done it so that I can cross it off. Crazy? Little bit.

    • Sarah says:

      haha, i sometimes do that too! ๐Ÿ™‚ my rationalization for that is so i can remember that i did it if i need to look back! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I am so jealous of your chip win! I am secure about my legs (about the only part of my body I am)….they are super-toned and have gotten me through a marathon and I am so proud of all my hard work to keep them looking good!

  8. That pasta looks yummy!

    I’m secure about my hair–I’ve finally gotten a style (color, length and cut) that I think really works for me. It’s only taken 25 years!

    I’m insecure about my weight too and probably eat way less healthy than you do, so it’s refreshing to know that we all have things we struggle with ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great weekend–hope it’s a relaxing yet productive one!

    • Sarah says:

      ooooh, i’m still working on the hair thing! that’s awesome that you found “your style”! i’m jealous!

      and i think everyone struggles with weight and diet issues sometimes, no matter if they appear to have things all together or not…

  9. Priyanka says:

    This upper body challenge sounds fun. Ever since I am training for my 5K, I have been working out my lower body but upper body goes unattended. This way I can tone my arms too.

    I am absolutely secure about my family and friends, my attitude and public speaking skills.

    • Sarah says:

      yes! i easily skimp on upper body workouts – they haven’t been a priority in the past. i’m glad to be focusing on that for a while.

  10. I love your list – I, like Emily, also add things just to cross them off. Wake up? Check. Put on shoes? Check.

    I look forward to reading about your challenge. I did Insanity last summer and my arms got really toned. Then I stopped and much of the toning went away. Sigh.

    I’m insecure about my mothering skills daily. It is such a huge job, the shaping of little lives, and I don’t want to mess it up. I’m pretty sure most moms feel that way, but I still worry.

    • Sarah says:

      i’m sure you’re an amazing mother! from what i see on your blog, it’s clear that you put a lot of effort into raising your kids!

      brad and i are going to do our insanity workout for the 60 days together when he graduates so we can get in shape for the wedding! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Way to rock that to-do list!

    Girl, I know you are going to look so incredibly amazing on your wedding day! Even if you don’t drop the weight (which I totally believe you can), you are still so gorgeous that it won’t matter. You are one beautiful lady and are going to make such a stunning bride. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I especially love that you ended with things you ARE secure in yourself with! This is great, Sarah! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      oh my gosh, your comment absolutely made my day. thank you for your kind words. it’s hard to just accept things where they are, but you’re right, brad things i’m beautiful now even though i may not be 100% happy. i need to focus more on that!

  12. Emily says:

    Did you use Instagram for those shots? Love the way B-Cherry looks in your pic! If you’re a fan on our Facebook page, I’m sure our fans would love the look too. Thanks for sharing your eats!

    Emily, Chobani

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

