what i ate wednesday – the hangover edition

hi guys! it’s another what i ate wednesday here at sarah learns! 🙂 in case you don’t know about it, the fabulous jenn of peas & crayons hosts a super fun link party every wednesday called “what i ate wednesday.” you should definitely go check it out & link up!

Peas and Crayons

i’m glad i had a topic in mind for this post because yesterday did not go as planned. remember a while ago when i talked about how i had been at lunchtime with a friend? ahhh – i did it again! my friend chad and i were asked to take a visiting seminar speaker out to lunch. we did that, and had one beer, and then a couple other lab members joined us, and our lunch ended up going until 5pm and i consumed about 4 pints of beer – too much for meeeeee! eek. needless to say i was a bit tipsy all night and chugging 80+ oz of water did nothing to help.

grrr. at least i had a VERY productive morning!

but, i documented my meals on monday, so that’s what i’m going to share today!

*****

breakfast was a lemon chobani with frozen blueberries

and a grande skinny hazelnut latte from starbucks! mmm….

*****

i had a little time to kill before i had to pick up my car from getting fixed, and i saw a pita pit as i was leaving the auto repair place in the morning, so i KNEW i wanted lunch there!

i got a turkey pita with lots of fillings! i’ll try to remember them all: spinach, tomatoes, red onions, pickles, black olives, banana peppers, cucumbers, feta cheese, a little chipotle mayo on a whole wheat pita.

ahhh, so good! i’m so happy i found a pita pit in madison. i will absolutely be back!

*****

dinner was pretty boring… i had my last of my bean soup.

and a little bowl of pickled beets!

last time i was home my mom sent me back with 3 jars of pickled beets that she made this summer. i’m going to try my hardest to eat them up before i move! 🙂

*****

beets: love them or hate them?

i love them, obvi!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to what i ate wednesday – the hangover edition

  1. Kristina says:

    I want a pita pit!!!!! That looks yum:) I need to try Chobani!

  2. a pita sounds so good right now! i’m trying to like beets. i roasted them a lot in the summer. i don’t hate them, just not my fav veggie!

    • Sarah says:

      i really don’t like cooking with beets because i ALWAYS end up staining my clothes or counters with beet juice! but if my mom gives me some already edible ones, i’m happy! 🙂 we grew up eating beet soup that my grandma was famous for! mmmm, it was so good. i have the recipe now (never made it yet), but i know why it was so tasty – there’s a whole quart of cream in the soup! lol.

  3. Beets – so very good for you, but not so very tasty. I do like them juiced and, atop a salad, roasted.

  4. ohmyogsh I haven’t had pita pit since college! Yummmmmmmy food that’s for freaking sure! and now i’m wishing my omelette lunch was a pita with falafel! womp womp

    love beets on a greek salad sliced thin and served with feta on top!!!!

  5. Priyanka says:

    I have never tried pita pit and heard so many good things about it. Beets…gag…I hate them!

  6. Where is there a Pita Pit??
    I’m not a fan of beets. I’ll eat them if they are mixed in with something, but I don’t go out of my way to eat them.

    • Sarah says:

      it’s right off of state street – on broom i think! if you walk from terry’s car car on johnson to state street, you pass it – if that helps! lol…that’s where i was walking when i saw it.

  7. I’m actually not a huge fan of Pita Pit because they’ve smothered my pita’s in hot buffalo sauce twice now=( Which I didn’t ask for. You pita looks great though so I may have to try another pita pit where they don’t mess up orders o much. I’m not sure how to feel about beets. I’ve eaten them before, I don’t love them or hate them. I rarely eat something I don’t enjoy though so I guess they just won’t be a big part of my diet?

    • Sarah says:

      oh no! i asked for a tiny bit of chipotle sauce and that’s what i got. what a bummer that you didn’t have a good experience there.

      yeah, and i definitely don’t think beets are necessary for a balanced diet if you eat well in general! i just love them! 🙂

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

