he loves me, he loves me not…

nooooo, i’m not talking about brad – he definitely loves me! i’m talking about wedding flowers! πŸ™‚

but first, yesterday was a busy busy day.

i started if off right with a filling bowl of hot cereal.

bob’s red mill 10 grain cereal again. this time topped with a little cottage cheese, blueberries, and a bit of dark chocolate dreams!

and a side of warm lemon water. i’ve been forgetting to have this in the mornings. today i ate breakfast at home (instead of at my desk), so i remembered it!

*****

lunch was chinese food courtesy of my adviser! every year he takes our whole lab out for lunch to celebrate chinese new year. this year because of conflicts, we had to go a month late. that’s ok though, it was still delicious.

*****

dinner was a bunch of leftovers in an attempt to clean out my fridge so brad and i can cook some more food this weekend!

leftover pizza

i took a bite before i remembered to take a picture! oops...

and more of my bean soup!

only one more serving of that soup left. i’m gonna try to get brad to eat it (i’m a little sick of it after having it every day for 4 days!).

*****

now, i’m going to ask for your help/advice on another wedding topic. i know, i know, i should make my own decisions! but i like getting input from other people and then deciding if i want to take their advice or not! πŸ™‚

anyway, i need to meet with our florist soon and hash out some details for the wedding (less than 6 months away – eek!). the problem is, i don’t know what i want! so i figured i could tell you guys what i like and show some inspiration photos and maybe you can weigh in? please?

first though, if you haven’t seen my post about the look of our wedding party, you should check that out so that’s in your mind when looking at flowers, ok?

also, remember that our main color will be an aqua-ish blue. i love purple, so i wouldn’t mind if there was purple sprinkled in there too!

ok, on to flowers. what i like: calla lilies, bright colors, mums, spider mums, aqua, and purple.

i was going to post things that i don’t like, but i can’t really think of anything. i just want to stay away from too many dark colors since the bridesmaid dresses are black.

now, some pictures that i’m loving!

i love the bright, vibrant colors of these mums.

i think this is some kind of orchid – not sure if it’s sprayed or not, but i think it’s beautiful. it is likely that it’s out of our budget, but i think a couple of these sprinkled in could be beautiful.

i know these bouquets are pink, but i think it looks so cool that it’s just a huge bouquet of just one kind of flower (and callas!). i wish there were blue callas. 😦

this is probably my favorite right now – i’d love something like this with a couple more different kinds of flowers mixed in, and a couple less callas….

i know those photos are kind of all over the place, but does anyone who has a good eye for this stuff have any suggestions???

seriously, i’m clueless. did you have gorgeous flowers that i might like? share a link or a photo, please!

*****

please chime in with any flower suggestions! i would really appreciate it!

also, i reply to almost every single comment that i get – do you guys get e-mails with my replies?

if not, does anyone who is wordpress savvy know how to make that happen? and if you do, then great! i’m glad.

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in wedding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to he loves me, he loves me not…

  1. Check out my wedding page. We went to the Farmer’s Market (oh, how I miss walking around the Capitol on Saturday mornings!) the day before the wedding to pick up our flowers. We were totally winging it, just picking what was in season, but I was in LOVE with what we ended up with!

  2. Amanda says:

    My favorite flowers are definitely daisies! I love them so much! Somehow they always just make me smile! And warm water with a little lemon is a great way to start the day! I haven’t had that in quite some time! I will definitely have to do that soon! πŸ™‚ Have a great day girl!

  3. i emailed you a pic of mine. i had lillies, calla lillies and mokara orchids! you can get some really pretty purple orchids!

  4. There’s a dyed orchid called “electric tye dyed orchids” and its vibrant aqua and purple — i think you’d love it! ask a florist about it =) Just a few will make a huge impact on your bouquet! ❀

    ummm…. my EVERYTHING hurts girl! that video kicked my butt! and I am a moron and signed up for kickboxing today! what am I going to do? uhhh turn into a puddle!? owwwwwwwwwwww

  5. Megan says:

    the flowers are soooo beautiful and bright! i love them!
    have a good weekend!

  6. KT says:

    Whenever I see those colors I always think of hydrangeas–I had some white and pink ones in my bouquet (to remind me of our family home in Michigan)!

    They are big and beautiful, a few would go a long way! I didn’t have a complete vision of what flowers I wanted when I met with our florist either. If he or she is a good florist, they will be able to take your colors and a few of the flowers you mentioned you like and come up with a complete look for you πŸ™‚

    Good luck!

  7. Kristen says:

    Ooh, I love the first pic of the flowers! I found my flowers from a pic on BHG – and my florist matched it almost exactly! My bridesmaid dresses were also black and we had bright colors, and A LOT of colors! I LOVED my flowers – they were actually my favorite thing about our wedding! I think there might be a picture on my about page, but it’s taking entirely too long to load!

    • Sarah says:

      i just looked at your about page – your flowers were so pretty and bright! πŸ™‚ i definitely want lots of bright colors since our bridal party will be in black (and maybe grey…)!

  8. I just checked out your bridal party look – love it! (I like grey suits/tuxes for guys!)
    The girl who does my hair just got married and her wedding party wore black and she had a great mix of blues/aquas, purple, etc. like the first picture. It looked great in pictures!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

