do you want a piece o’ pizza?!

good morning, friends! i’ve got to say, yesterday was a GREAT day! i hope the rest of march is keeps up. πŸ™‚ i had a pretty productive day at work, got some errands accomplished, organized like woah when i got home, and brad had an amazing day at his student clinic! brad’s news was like getting 5 cherries on top of my ice-cream sundae kind of day! i’m still all smiles this morning and i’m going to hang onto this feeling for as long as i can!

*****

today is another “what i ate wednesday” link party over at jenn‘s bloggie, but i forgot to photograph most of my meals yesterday – oops! it’s ok though, because dinner was yummy enough that i forgave myself for forgetting!

i did a big grocery shopping trip yesterday and it included a stop at trader joe’s! i noticed their pre-made pizza dough for the first time, so i grabbed two kinds: whole wheat and garlic & herb. last night i used the whole wheat (i’m saving the other one for this weekend to make pizza with brad!).

*****

before i got into my pizza-making fun, i had a little snackie of another of my new trader joe’s finds.

horseradish hummus! oh. em. gee. i LOVE horseradish! as soon as i saw this guy on the shelf, i knew i had to try it. the verdict? good, not great. it tastes good, but i like my horseradish flavor to be strong. and this wasn’t as pungent as i like it. *sigh* oh well.

{random story: once when i was little (maybe 6 or 7?) my mom, dad, and uncles made homemade horseradish sauce from horseradish that grew in our yard. talk about intense! they were all downstairs crying buckets, and my sister, cousin, and i were upstairs holding wet washcloths over our eyes to stop the stinging. that was the one and only time they made their own horseradish!}

*****

ok, on to the pizza! the trader joe’s dough was super easy to use!

just let sit at room temp for 20 minutes. while i was waiting, i chopped up my veggies!

i had red onion, spinach, yellow and red pepper, and mushrooms. then i just rolled out my dough into a 12 inch “circle”. plopped it on my pizza pan, and added my toppings!

for sauce, i used my mom’s homemade spaghetti sauce – trying to use up that pantry! πŸ™‚ cheese was trader joe’s 3 cheese mexican blend – and i do NOT skimp on the cheese. just saying. and then my veggies!

doesn’t it look pretty?! just pop in the oven and cook for 12 minutes at 350*. or maybe more like 17 minutes. i kept putting it back in because it was really juicy (twss). i think it’s because i used so many raw veggies on the top. oops. oh well, after 17 minutes i couldn’t wait anymore!

slightly soggy due to veggie juices, but SO delicious! i took two pieces initially, and went back for a 3rd. πŸ™‚ i can’t wait to make more pizza with brad this weekend! i MUST get black olives though – they’re probably my favorite pizza topping ever.

*****

fitblog chat

i usually participate in the fitblog twitter chat on tuesday nights. however, last night my mad organization spree and lots of skyping with brad to talk about his day resulted in me skipping it. i thought i’d answer the questions here today so i don’t feel like i’m missing out!

1. did you grow up in a family that practiced a “healthy lifestyle”? how did this influence you as an adult?

my family absolutely practiced a healthy lifestyle. my mom and dad were very active when i was growing up. my sister and i were always outside playing in the barns or with all of the animals, or “helping” our parents with different tasks. we didn’t have cable television and were never allowed to have video games, so we didn’t spend much time at all in front of the television. also, we LOVED eating fresh fruit and veggies from our gardens. i don’t even know how much dirt and bugs i consumed from eating veggies and fruit straight out of the garden, but it was wonderful! we also had chickens, so we got our own eggs for most of the year and my dad butchered our animals for meat – so we were a pretty self-sustaining little household. that all added up to a great healthy environment!

unfortunately, i’m not nearly as active as i used to be – thanks grad school for tying me to a computer all day. but i definitely credit my un-pickiness and love for vegetables to the way i was raised!

2. as a child or adolescent, were you ever encouraged to lose weight or diet? how did you feel?

despite our super healthy lifestyle, i was pretty chubby growing up. i knew i wasn’t as skinny as my sister, but i never really felt fat until i hit middle school and was teased for being fat. until then, i just knew from my parents that i was beautiful and they loved me.

i was never told to diet or watch my weight. thank goodness. i think i have a pretty healthy relationship with food and exercise today, and i’m not sure that would be the case if i had grown up feeling the need to diet and lose weight.

3. focusing on the present, what is one health habit or negative thought you would like to change?

i really want to get back into the habit of working out in the mornings again. i feel so much better when i get my workout done first thing in the morning and have the rest of the day to accomplish everything else! plus, if i put it off until the afternoons, my chance of actually getting in my workout goes way down.

4. as a parent, what is one message about health you hope to pass on to your children?

i think mama pea & tina are my inspiration for parenting (which won’t be happening for a couple years yet, guys…). i never want my children to observe me referring to myself as “fat” or needing to lose weight. i also don’t want to label foods as good or bad. i want to teach them that a treat is never forbidden, and that they’re good to be enjoyed every now and then. and finally, i really hope my kids think of asparagus as a treat like i did when i was little! πŸ™‚

*****

whew! you get a cookie if you read this whole post. πŸ™‚

what’s your favorite pizza topping?

did your parents teach you any healthy or unhealthy habits growing up?

my parents both smoked when i was growing up. i’m glad i didn’t pick up that habit!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to do you want a piece o’ pizza?!

  1. your pizza looks fab. so glad you had a good day yesterday!

  2. brandi says:

    horseradish hummus?!? how have I not seen this??? I’m going to have to find this.

  3. ummmm heck yes I want a piece of that!!!! send it on over! hehe

    I’m pretty much cracking up at the thought of the entire fam bawling over some super wicked homemade horseradish… omg… too funny! glad you guys didn’t brave that experience again. I would have cried too. a LOT! I like horseradish in teeeeny amounts b/c im a total wuss and not hardcore like you are! hehe

    I missed fitblog too. womp womp

  4. mmmm – homemade pizza is the BEST!!!! Love it!

  5. I’m so happy you had a great day! πŸ™‚

    I LOVE TJ’s pizza dough. In fact, I have some in the fridge that I’ll be using tomorrow night. I love artichoke hearts, mushrooms & black olives on my pizza. I’m trying a new kind tomorrow, and making it with potatoes & kalamata olives. We’ll see how it goes!

    • Sarah says:

      ooo, kalamata olives sound like a great pizza topping! πŸ™‚

      i just got the urge to make a pizza with a pesto sauce, so i might have to go get another dough because i don’t think i’ll be able to convince brad to make something untraditional!

  6. I ALWAYS want a piece o’ pizza! πŸ˜‰ Love that stuff. I don’t know if I could say that I have a favorite topping though. Maybe just veggies in general πŸ™‚

    Oh sad day! I forgot about fitblog chat! I had meant to get in on that and didn’t even think about it! 😦 Next week for sure!

  7. KT says:

    I love TJ’s pizza dough–it freezes really well too, which I know because we have some thawing now for dinner tonight πŸ™‚

    Our favorite way to prepare it is to use the herb pizza dough from TJ’s, roll it out and bake it with nothing on it. Then we top it with fresh salad tossed in olive oil and vinegar and if I have them, olives, prosciutto and a little cheese. It’s like a big soft crouton or having bread with your salad but instead it’s pizza!

    • Sarah says:

      oh that sounds so good! πŸ™‚ i can see that being a great trick for kids – “we’re not having salad tonight, we’re having PIZZAAAAA!” πŸ™‚

      and thanks for the tip on freezing it!

  8. Thank you for the horsey hummus review! I almost got that last time I was at TJ’s.

  9. I miss trader joes!!!

    I’m big into starting your kids off on the right path with eating and body image. It’s tough at times, especially with a little girl. Even at 5, she is already picking up cues from Disney Princesses and Barbies, asking why her hair isn’t straight like them and the like. I can’t really change her adorably naturally curly hair, but I can make sure she doesn’t hear me talking about weight negatively. I just hope she sees us eating healthy and me making exercise a priority and learns that it’s more about wellness than weight.

    • Sarah says:

      i’m sure that’s hard. but it definitely seems like you’re doing a great job of setting a good example. πŸ™‚

      do you read healthy tipping point? caitlin has written a couple times about young kids and the body image ideas they’re constantly exposed to.

  10. Heather C says:

    This is the third post this week I’ve read about homemade pizza… i.e. my third reminder that its been TOO LONG since I’ve made pizza (i.e. more than 2 weeks…haha). πŸ˜‰ Looks delicious!!

    • Sarah says:

      haha, maybe i saw other people posting about them and that’s why i felt the need to make it too! either way, i’m glad i did it. i had leftovers for dinner tonight, and YUM!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

