birthday hibachi!

hey everyone. thanks so much for your kind words on my post yesterday. i’m feeling better about it today – just trying to move past it! πŸ™‚

*****

i don’t have much time this morning to post because i have an appointment in a little while to look at an apartment for brad and i to move into in april! i have some pretty high hopes for this one – it turns out it’s hard to find an apartment that allows large (~60 lbs) dogs and has availability starting in april. i’ll keep you updated on how it goes!

*****

last night was just what i needed to get rid of the last of my funk. it was my friend, margarita’s, birthday, and she decided that we should get hibachi! honestly, i don’t remember the name of the restaurant, but it was a great night!

hibachi is such a fun way to celebrate!

our hibachi man (i’m not really sure what his title is….i decided on hibachi man!) was so much fun!

and of course, my favorite part is always the onion volcano! πŸ™‚

i ordered the chicken hibachi with lots of veggies. our meal started with a salad with ginger dressing and a brothy soup with some mushrooms. i forgot to take photos of that though…

mmm, the hibachi was DELICIOUS! i seriously ate my whole plate.

after dinner, they brought out a fruit plate for the birthday girl.

our hibachi man also came in a played a drum while we sang happy birthday.

and she ever had a candle to blow out.

we had so much fun and ended up staying and chatting long after our food was cleared away.

*****

now i’m doing some quick clean-up and last minute packing before i head to the apartment showing. as soon as that’s done, i’m driving down to st. louis again for the weekend! i promised brad that we could make the black bean burgers since he’s been drooling over them on here and hasn’t tried them yet, so you’ll see a new variation on them this weekend!

*****

also, i did a guest post for cynthia at it all changes today. go over and check it out!

*****

have you ever had hibachi?

what kind of food would you choose for a birthday meal out?

this year i chose indian food for my birthday! πŸ™‚

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in madison and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to birthday hibachi!

  1. love love loved your guest post! can totally relate to it in every sense. good luck with the apartment search!!! ps…i actually just typed good luck with the guest post…clearly i haven’t had my coffee yet πŸ™‚

  2. KT says:

    I love Hibachi and actually growing up, all of us kids went to a Hibachi restaurant (named Shogun I believe) for our birthdays! If I could go out to eat on my birthday, I would either go for sushi or hibachi, just for old times sake!

    Good luck with the apartment search and have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  3. Kristina says:

    We were suppose to have hibachi the other night and we had cx-so yummy and fun…it’s nice when dinner is entertaining!

  4. My apartment will be available June 1st, close to Camp Randall, includes a garage and storage unit, and my neighbors have 3 dogs. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚ we actually need to have an apartment that’s available on or before april 23rd – that’s been our biggest trouble. it seems like we might have waited a little too long to start looking! oops…

  5. Bonnie says:

    I have heard the word “hibachi” before, but I never really knew what it was. Anytime anyone would talk about it, I would nod my head, smile, and go along with whatever was being said.
    Now, I can honestly say that I understand.
    So thank you. πŸ™‚

    http://glamkittenslitterbox.blogspot.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  6. aww hibatchi with a huge group of friends is so fun! I always miss whatever they throw at me to eat though! I got it right on my wedding day but every other time I get hit in the face with food! =)

    love youuuu! mwah!

  7. We tried hibachi once with the kids and my little girl FREAKED OUT when the flame shot up. I felt horrible for not thinking about that before hand. We made up for it with all you can eat white rice for her and some orange sherbet. Still, we haven’t ventured back with the kids. My little guy, though, would probably try to climb out onto the cook top and get into the action.

    Glad you had a fun night!

    • Sarah says:

      oh no! i can see how the huge flames might be scary for a little one! i wouldn’t have thought of it beforehand either though. i just think of it as all fun!

  8. Ooooh, I hope your apartment appointment goes well this afternoon! Fingers crossed! πŸ™‚

  9. Love hibachi! We actually had hibachi and sushi for lunch today. It was sooo yummy!

  10. I love going to hibachi restaurants and sometimes choose it as my birthday food! I’m really into trying new places I’ve never been so I have a whole lists of restaurants here in orlando i want to go to!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

