mixed bean soup recipe

hey guys, i had a TERRIBLE day yesterday. it was going along fine until someone said something to me that was so ignorant, insulting, and inappropriate that it just caused my good mood to come crashing down. it made me feel so bad about myself. so, i went to be around 9pm, cried myself to sleep, and then woke up at 3am wide awake. i got up and did some cleaning, read some blogs, and then finally felt tired again around 5am. i went back to sleep intending to sleep until my normal wake-up time: 6am. instead, i woke up at 8am! oops. so, i’m still trying to deal with yesterday and running late this morning.

*****

all i’ve got for you is the recipe i promised yesterday.

it’s super easy and i LOVE it! i’m moving in about 2 months, so i’ve already started thinking about eating down my pantry – it will probably take 2 months to do it! one thing that i’ve had for a while is a bag of dried mixed beans. i wanted to use them up, so i threw things together and ended up with this soup.

mixed bean and sausage soup

ingredients

  • 2 cups dried mixed beans
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 16 oz. kielbasa chicken or turkey sausage
  • 1/2 cup red onion, chopped
  • basil, to taste
  • salt, to taste

prepare mixed beans according to package. i did an overnight soak and then cooked them in water for 2 hours. mix together broth, beans, sausage cut in half and then in 1/2 in pieces, basil, salt, and onions. simmer on stove until onions are soft.

i didn’t try my soup until it sat in the refrigerator for a day, so the flavors were really well mixed. it’s easy, has LOTS of beans, and is tasty!

*****

have you ever cooked with dried mixed beans? what did you make?

feel free to share recipes and links!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to mixed bean soup recipe

  1. KT says:

    Boo to bad days 😦

    That looks really good–I would say that I love kielbasa but then I’d be opening myself up to a that’s what she said moment!

    I think I’ll try adding a bay leaf to this when I make it so it tastes a bit like jambalaya or gumbo πŸ™‚

  2. People can be so awful! Just ignore them. I had a day like that two weeks ago which partially caused my blog “vacation” then I realized what an idiot the person must be and just went on. This soup looks fab by the way…so easy too! I love sausage and beans so I think this is going to go on my meal plan for next week. I did a meal plan for the first time this week and it has been great!

  3. 1. i love you. hope your day gets better today
    2. this soup looks divine. so proud of you for cleaning out your pantry!!

  4. I am so sorry someone said something like that to you. The same thing happened to me on Tuesday. So I wrote out all my feelings and then went and got in the shower and cried a little bit. Then I snuggled up next to the husband and let him comfort me while I cried. Some people really just are incredibly ignorant. I’m sorry you had a run in with one.

  5. People are such a-holes. Hopefully you are starting to feel better about the whole thing. πŸ™‚

  6. I haven’t cooked any thing with dried beans or lentil but need to give a recipe a try! This looks yummy, I wonder if I can make it with vegetarian sausage? Don’t let someone else get you down like that=( If they hurt you that bad they don’t deserve your attention at all!

    • Sarah says:

      i think veg sausage would be great in this recipe! honestly, i just through in the kielbasa because it was one more thing i had in my freezer to use up! πŸ™‚

  7. I use dried beans all the time. This looks awesome! I’ve actually got split pea soup (although not technically a bean) going in the crockpot now.

    Hope your day gets better. I hate feeling rushed in the morning.

  8. So sorry to hear about your bad day:(
    Why are other people so crabby/hate the world?! I’ll never know…

  9. Priyanka says:

    I am sorry about your bad day, I have normally seen that when people are frustrated with themselves they tend to make themselves feel better by saying mean things to others.

    I have never cooked with dry mixed beans, but yeah I have with dried kidney and garbanzo beans! Hope you are having a great day today!

  10. Amanda says:

    I am so sorry you had a bad day girl! You are awesome though! Just remember that! And your soup looks delicious πŸ™‚ I have cooked with dried beans and I made a lentil walnut loaf! It was SO good!

  11. Bethany says:

    Shoot, I’m so sorry someone made a comment that derailed your day like that. I hope you have had some time to figure out how you’re going to deal with it — whether that be confronting the situation, or just ignoring it and moving on.

    This soup looks great, and I love how few ingredients there are! The sausage must give it a ton of flavor.

    Hope today goes better!

  12. Sorry for the rude comment. I hate when I let other people get me down. First I get down about the comment, then I get even more down because I know I shouldn’t be upset. Does that make any sense?

    I think you’re awesome and wise beyond your years!

  13. I’m sorry to hear about your bad day. Nasty comments can really bring me down, too, and like Michelle said above, I end up beating myself up over being upset about it. I hope you had a better day today!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

