taking responsibility

good morning, friends!  i’m happy to report that i’m out of my monday funk. 🙂 i kind of unplugged for a while last night and did some thinking and some attitude adjustment and now i’m ready to take on today!

more on that in a bit, but first, yesterday’s boring meals…

breakfast was pumpkin oats (AGAIN). i didn’t take a photo of them, but they looked exactly like these from last week:

******

lunch was a small container of farro mess, a small container of succotash, and a big old bag of celery, carrots, and bell pepper slices.

the farro looked like this:

and the succotash like this:

*****

dinner was actually pretty delicious and exciting after my repeat meals earlier in the day. i roasted some asparagus in cooking spray and balsamic vinegar and served that on the side of another grilled cheese sandwich!

seriously, i should not buy cheese in any sizable quantity. i bought that cheese on sunday night and i only have a tiny sliver left. i have no self control when it comes to cheese!

*****

ok, so what brought around my change in attitude yesterday?

i was cranky and thinking + stressing about a lot of things for most of the day. i realized that lately, i’ve just been living for the future. i am constantly thinking about how great it will be once i finish this draft of a manuscript, or how much less stress i’ll have once i finish my research proposal for my advisory committee, or how i just wish i could fast-forward to april 23rd when brad graduates and moves here, or even thinking how i can’t wait for the next weekend on sunday night before the current weekend is over. that is NOT how i want to spend my time living my life. actually, what i was doing was completely NOT living my life. i wasn’t living in the present.

so i decided that i want and NEED to be more present in my life. i don’t want to wake up one day and wonder where my life went. i want to enjoy each day as it comes! starting NOW, i will be mindful of how i spend my time and make a concentrated effort to focus on the current moment. by concentrating so much on the future, i KNOW i was letting all aspects of my life slide without giving them my full attention.

realizing all of this also made me think about something that they say often on the cut the fat podcasts. they emphasize that everyone needs to take responsibility for their lives – the good parts AND the bad parts. this doesn’t mean blaming yourself. instead of beating yourself up for the things you don’t like about your current life, taking responsibility is actually a positive way to look at a situation. when you take responsibility for something, it means you have the ability to respond. the first time i heard them talk about this concept, i liked it so much that i “wrote” it down in my iphone to remember.

it felt like such a powerful idea to me. by taking responsibility for my life RIGHT NOW, i am giving up any excuses i may have had that implicated other things or other people for my current situation. but i am also giving myself all of the power to change that.

i don’t like that i feel so stressed out lately and have trouble focusing on my many work/school projects. i don’t like that i haven’t gotten into a good workout schedule. i don’t like that i eat mindlessly in the evenings. and so on….

but now that i have taken responsibility for these situations, i have the power to change them.  i have the ability to respond. and i will!

*****

instead of leaving you with a question today, i will just challenge each of you to take responsibility for  your life.

(if you aren’t already….!)

it’s a pretty great feeling!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to taking responsibility

  1. Cait says:

    what a great great great great post girl 🙂 it’s so easy to get caught up in life and forget about taking time for YOURSELF as often as possible! I’m sure you feel so much better too! xoxo love ya

  2. I went through this same thought process last week. I felt like I was always looking toward the weekend (even though I LOVE my job!). I decided that I needed to start making the most of each day and be thankful for this wonderful like I lead. Glad you also had an attitude adjustment. It’s quite powerful, isn’t it?!

    • Sarah says:

      it’s so powerful! i’m shocked how many people are saying they struggle with this same thought process too. it’s not a fun way to go through life!

  3. I had to do the same thing last night to get out of my funk. Totally helped! And I think mine related a lot to the future too. Look for a post on it later. 🙂

  4. Motherhood has taught me this again and again. It can be tough for those of us type-A people who thrive on planning and focusing on what comes next to stop and enjoy the moment, the season of life we are in the midst of living.

    Always good to hear!

    • Sarah says:

      yes, so true! i definitely think my type a-ness makes it harder for me to just enjoy each moment because i’m so busy worrying about my to-do list, etc.

  5. I hear you on wanting to be sure to be living in the moment. Thanks for posting this, girl!

  6. what a great post!! glad you were able to adjust your attitude and that you’re a happier Sarah now 🙂 also…my hubby could eat balsamic roasted asparagus every night!

  7. Priyanka says:

    This is really a great post. I have been in funk lately and taking responsibility and setting mini goals has really brought be back into focus. I know it is futuristic thinking but it helped me.

    • Sarah says:

      i think mini goals are great though – at least they tend to keep you focused on the very near future instead of wishing for things months down the road like i was doing!

  8. Kristina says:

    glad you’re out of the Monday funk:) I eat asparagus but have never tried the balsamic roasted-sound great!

  9. It’s amazing how just unplugging for awhile can make SUCH a difference!

    • Sarah says:

      it’s become very clear to me quickly that i need to make a conscious effort to unplug. blogging could easily consume my life if i let it. i love it and enjoy the time i spend working on it and reading other blogs, but i want to have other things in my life too!

  10. Great attitude adjustment. I may need to follow your lead on this!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

