weekend recap

after such a great weekend at home with my mom & stepdad & their zoo of animals to snuggle with, i guess it’s kind of inevitable that i have a major case of the mondays today. i snoozed my alarm 4 times this morning (and usually i’m a 1 snooze kind of girl), and then a spent a little time on twitter while still in bed!

i dragged myself out of bed to see a dreary and very icy day. i almost fell twice on the ice while walking to the bus stop! so many signs that i should have just gone back to bed….

[end complain-fest]

*****

anyway, i thought i’d just quickly tell you why my weekend was so awesome!

  • spent lots of time with my mom – i hadn’t seen her in a while and it was great to see her
  • wine tasting for our wedding reception
  • coffee + catch up chat with one of my best friends from home
  • my car got new spark plugs! (it REALLY needed them)
  • saturday dinner was fresh fish that my stepdad caught that morning! so good. ๐Ÿ™‚
  • lots of snuggling with the puppies and my sister’s cat
  • soaking in the hot tub both nights and watching the stars

i really wish the weekend didn’t have to end! the only thing that would have made it better was if brad was there. this was our first weekend in 8 weeks that we haven’t seen each other. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but there are only 4 days until i go back down to st. louis, so i guess i can be patient.

*****

after my drive from he** and my recovery grilled cheese + the office, i spent a little time on my presentation (only a half hour -oops). i also threw together a smoothie for dinner. this was NOT my best smoothie. it was also pretty ugly. if i had taken any other photos for this post, this smoothie photo would NOT have made the cut.

it had half a banana, about 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree (i had just a tiny bit to use up so i threw it in), some frozen blueberries, spinach, almond milk, and flaxseed. really, that pumpkin was not a good flavor to toss in with the rest of my go-to smoothie. it just didn’t go. oh well, i threw some peanut butter on top and just went with it!

*****

i have a couple fun topics to talk about this week – still working on some of the suggestions you guys gave me last week!

anyone have any monday morning pep-up tips to get myself going?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to weekend recap

  1. I hit the snooze for 30 minutes today! Eek! I saw your tweet too. I thought the same thing about my office and then wondered if maybe the icy roads would give us a delayed start. Ha! Wishful thinking!

  2. i wish i wasn’t in class right now also ๐Ÿ™‚ oh well….glad to hear you had such a great weekend!

  3. I wish MY school celebrated President’s Day! I swear the only people who get off are government workers and bankers! Everyone else is working! It’s no good!

  4. If it is a post office holiday, it should be a universal holiday! Hmmm, pep? I got some really cute Valentine’s plates at the store for 90% off. Nice way to start a Monday!

    • Sarah says:

      oh that is a good way to start a monday! ๐Ÿ™‚ jenn at peas & crayons posted about some adorable picture frames at michaels for $1 each. i’m going to go tomorrow and try to find some for myself!

  5. Kristina says:

    I spent the day running errands and randomness-no work though:) so I’ve got no complaints!

  6. Aww sounds like such a great weekend! Sorry Monday isn’t the best, but at least the weekend is almost here again! (at least that’s what I tell myself, haha!)

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

