i’m alive!

oh man, driving back to madison today was AWFUL! when i left my mom’s house, it wasn’t too bad. the roads were pretty clear and there wasn’t much snow coming down.

about 30 minutes into my (normally 2.5 hour) drive, the roads got MUCH worse.

and then, a bit later, WAY worse than that. so bad that i spent most of the drive white-knuckled staring at the tire tracks on the highway and watching the brake lights on the truck in front of me hoping i made it back in one piece. i saw 7 cars in the ditch on my drive. and those were only the ones on my side of the road. i’m sure there were plenty of cars in the ditch on the other side of the road too. ugh. worst drive i have ever had to do.

*****

i got back about 3 hours and 15 minutes after i left my mom’s house. honestly, i feel totally wiped out and exhausted from that drive. it was so nerve wracking! if i hadn’t drank so much this weekend, i would definitely be enjoying a strong drink right now. instead i’m turning to my other food comfort – cheese!

i made myself an amazing grilled cheese sandwich & now i’m wearing sweats on the couch watching the office. i need to soothe my nerves.

*****

after i feel a bit more calm, i need to get some work done on a seminar that i have to present on wednesday. it’s still not written – oops!

what’s you favorite episode of the office?

i love them all – i’m not sure i can choose a favorite! some top episodes: the one with the booze cruise, jim & pam’s wedding, the one with scott’s tots…. oh so many more good ones! i can’t even think of them right now. πŸ™‚

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to i’m alive!

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m SO glad you made it safely! How scary!

    My favorite Office episode is definitely Jim and Pam’s wedding because I just waited so long for it to finally happen. It was brilliant. The Rabies Fun Run was the first one I ever saw so that episode holds a special place in my heart. The absolute most awkward (and yet hilarious) episode was definitely when Michael Scott and Jan had Jim and Pam and Dwight and his date over for dinner. Oh my goodness… hysterical!

    • Sarah says:

      hahahaa, i love all of those episodes you mentioned! it made me laugh while i was reading them! πŸ™‚ another completely awkward one –> the one where angela’s cats are on nanny-cam and she goes home and licks that one. ewww….

  2. The office Olympics episode was one of my favorites =) Though I like almost all of them!

    ohmygosh and grilled cheese is totally a comfort food of mine! ❀

  3. what a sucky drive!!! those are the worst. totally stress me out too. good news is you made it! and spring is coming! and your grilled cheese looks fantastic…AND sweats make everything better!

  4. Kristina says:

    Ugh-I totally sympathize with you-hate driving, glad you made it home safe-so scary!!!!

  5. Geeeez, 7 cars in the ditch? I didn’t think it was that bad out, but some people are so reckless when driving! Glad you made it back in one piece, and got to enjoy grilled cheese!

    • Sarah says:

      it was much much worse north of madison – and i was coming from the north. but yeah, it wasn’t too bad in madison yesterday. not so much today though – hello ice!

  6. Aah the roads look scary in your picture. I’ve heard it’s VERY slippery in Madison now too. Glad you made it home safe!!

    • Sarah says:

      yep, it is super slippery! i almost fell twice walking a very short distance to the bus stop! it doesn’t even look like there is salt on the roads or sidewalks yet. not cool.

  7. Priyanka says:

    I loathe driving in even an inch of snow, I am sure how bad that drive in the snow must have been. Grilled cheese, one of my favorite comfort foods!

    • Sarah says:

      i’m usually ok with driving in snow – but yesterday was a pretty intense storm. if i had to drive in conditions like i posted photos of yesterday, it would have been fine. but the roads got SO bad SO quickly!

  8. Ugh – that drive sounds awful! Glad you made it safely. I would have had a huge cup of hot tea to calm down and there would have been some Lifetime watched. πŸ™‚ As for the Office, I really liked the Rabies Run and the episode where Michael burns his foot on his george foreman grill. Makes me smile just remembering. πŸ™‚

  9. Boy, that looks dangerous .. the skidding, the visibility .. I am glad you made it back home safe and sound.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

