beer at noon…

do you ever do things that you know are a bad idea, but you do them anyway? yeah, i did that yesterday. in my program, when you’re finishing up your phd, you have to present your research at our department’s seminar series. it’s a pretty big deal. well, my friend chad from my lab presented his exit seminar yesterday, so we went out for lunch afterwards to celebrate! we went to the library, which is an awesome bar right across the street from our building.

i got my absolute FAVORITE thing on the menu, a portobello mushroom sandwich with a grilled portobello marinated in balsamic vinaigrette. it’s served with pesto, goat cheese, and roasted red peppers and it is AH-MAZING! but, none of that is the bad idea. the problem was that i was tempted by the delicious beer offerings. i got not one, but TWO pints of ale asylum hoppalicious. oh man, i love that beer, but two of them at noon is definitely more than i can handle. i got back to lab at about 1:30 pm and i was definitely a little tipsy! oops.

*****

needless to say, that didn’t end up in a very productive afternoon. i left work a little early and came home to take a 2 hour nap. then i did get a little busy in the kitchen making a couple dishes that will work well in lunches tomorrow and next week!

first, i made my farro mess again. you can find the recipe here!

i love this dish – lots of great flavor from the sun dried tomatoes and balsamic. πŸ™‚

i also threw together a random succotash. i know i saw something similar on a blog in the past couple months, but i cannot remember who inspired this dish! if it was you or if you know who made it, please remind me!

it had a can of lima beans and a can of corn (both rinsed), tomato paste, salt and pepper, chili powder, cumin, cayenne, and red pepper flakes. it’s nice and spicy + there are beans for my protein and fiber. πŸ™‚

now i have side dishes for my lunches and dinners tomorrow and next week!

*****

after the beer and cooking, that absolute last thing i wanted to do was the 30 day shred. it took all of the bargaining and mind tricks with myself to get me to do it. actually the thing that really made me do it, was not wanting to have to tell you guys that i wimped out on day 4 of this challenge!

so i faked excitement and motivation and got to it. and of course, once i was done i was so happy that i did it!

*****

i’m pretty excited about this weekend! i’m not going to st. louis, so of course i’m sad that i won’t see brad. 😦 but i’m going home (to my mom & stepdad’s home) for the weekend! i used to go home a lot, but since i’ve been traveling to st. louis so much lately, i haven’t been home since the holidays. i can’t wait to see my momma!

and i’m anticipating some good snuggle time with these two cuties

these are my mom & stepdad’s dogs. hoss is a german shepherd + st. bernard mix and boone is a yellow lab.

tonight we’re going wine tasting at brad & my wedding reception venue to pick out some good ones to serve! i’m also getting a couple things fixed on my car and having coffee with a friend. it’ll be nice to have a relaxing weekend at home!

*****

also, there are a couple great giveaways going on now! first, an amazing pb&co giveaway is happening over at thefitacademic blog. and anne from fANNEtastic food is holding an giveaway for attune food coupons. stop by and check them out!

*****

how do you handle days when you’re not feeling motivated?

knowing i’d be blogging about it today definitely motivated me to get that workout in yesterday!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to beer at noon…

  1. have fun at your wine tasting!!!! and with those cute puppies πŸ™‚

  2. Liz Jacquart says:

    I just say DO IT DO IT!! Regardless… you know ex-ac-tly how you feel every time you workout.. AND it is definately a better feeling than if you don’t do it!
    πŸ™‚

  3. Nicole says:

    I think beer at midday is perfectly fine. Good luck choosing your wine etc for your wedding. When are you getting married?

  4. Oh man, when I’m not motivated it becomes an issue of just turning on autopilot. ‘Cause if I miss one day then I will definitely miss the next and then the one after that too. So I just remind myself that I want to take care of myself. πŸ™‚

    Have fun at the wine tasting!

  5. awwww puppies! Look at you, you boozehound! =) haha! love it! I would celebrate big milestones with lunchtime beers in college every now and then =) totally acceptable to write papers alongside a margarita too! ❀

    Have a great weekend dollface!

    motivation? I totally lack it! whoops

    • Sarah says:

      haha, i’m glad you approve! it’s too bad i was pretty non-functional for most of the afternoon. in college it was pretty regular to find me writing a paper or doing homework with a glass of wine or some other drink sitting next to me! those were the days… πŸ˜‰

  6. Bahaha – I love that you got tipsy on your lunch hour! πŸ™‚

  7. If I was in your spot and hadn’t publicly committed to do the workout, I would have totally skipped it. I definitely allow myself days with no motivation. Not more than 2 in a row and usually only 1. Have a great weekend with your family!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

