going green + a challenge!

hey guys! thank you SO MUCH for all of the opinions on the books yesterday! i don’t know yet which i’ll get (i’m leaning towards 168 hours and the kind diet), but i’ll definitely let you know and review them for you!

*****

moving on…i had the BEST breakfast yesterday!

overnight oats in an almond butter jar. SO GOOD! i scraped that sucker clean.

*****

i had a busy busy day at work and then i came home and continued being productive! πŸ™‚ i got in a workout, prepped veggies for meals this week, and made a bomb smoothie.

the smoothie had a banana, almond milk, chocolate protein powder, a big handful of spinach, a dollop of peanut butter, and some ground flaxseed! then i decided it needed some crunch so i put some trail mix on top! (i’m out of granola. 😦 must make more!). i LOVE the flavors of banana, chocolate, and peanut butter together.

*****

now, i have to tell you about one of my new favorite things.

lindsay had a giveaway on her blog last week for one of these reusable sandwich bags. the etsy seller, lizzy, also offered a discount to order our own, so i ordered one sandwich bag and two snacks bags for myself. and then i won the giveaway too! πŸ™‚ now i have two snack bags and two sandwich bags to use for packing my lunches (and brightening my day)!

i used them for the first time yesterday (got them monday night!) and i loved them! first of all, how cute are these?

second, instead of throwing away 2 plastic zipper bags that i would have normally put my veggies and ginger snaps in, i can just rinse these out and use them again! cute AND good for the environment. it’s a win, win.

*****

now, on to the big news. i know i totally gave it away the other day, but i’m doing a 30 day shred challenge with myself!

i bought the dvd this weekend at target for only $9! so, to make sure i get some good use out of it, i’m getting right down to it. starting on monday, feb. 14, i committed myself to do the 30 day shred every day for 30 days.

i am going to try to move up a level every 10 days, but if i don’t feel ready, i’ll stay where i am for an extra day or two. i took before photos and measurements and i can’t wait to see if i get some good results! i’ll share my results after 2 weeks and after the 30 days are up.

i’ve got to say, i was pretty pumped since it’s just a 20 minute workout, but it is NOT going to be easy! i did day 2 yesterday and i was so sore from the previous day. today i am REALLY feeling it! i never realized how weak my arms are. that’s what i’m having the hardest time with.

for those of you who have done with 30 day shred before, did you see good results? also, did you add in other workouts along with it?

i’m still going to try to get to the gym for a good run or arc trainer workout a couple times a week at least!

anyone out there have this dvd and want to do the challenge with me?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to going green + a challenge!

  1. Kristina says:

    Can’t wait for a review and that bfast looked dang good!

  2. eeeeeeee…..yay for your bags!!!! i have the shred as well. i kinda fell off the bandwagon but might jump back on!

  3. I love pb+choco+banana smoothies! They are one of my favorites.
    I have the 30 day shred and it’s a great workout. I’ve never done it for 30 days straight. I use it for more of a quick home workout option when a trip to the gym doesn’t happen. I can get the whole workout done in less time than the Dora show that is babysitting my kids – a win in my book! πŸ™‚

  4. Cait says:

    YES i have that DVD and i LOVE it! it seriously kicks your butt and i’d love to challenge it with you πŸ™‚ xoxo

  5. Well I sadly didn’t look like Jillian Michaels at the end of it. lol. Some days I would add in a run or some cardio with the dvd, but some days I was too sore to move!

    • Sarah says:

      lol, i’m feeling pretty sore today! i’m definitely not gonna look like jillian michaels (i wish!), but hopefully i tone up a little of my flab! πŸ™‚

  6. I will buy the DVD this weekend [if I can remember] and I’ll totally do the dvd with you! ❀ flipping awesome!

    LOVE your new sammy bags!

  7. Every time I do the the 30 DS, I get great results. I’m actually thinking about starting it up again – I’ll let you know.

    My sister-in-law is going to make me some reusable sandwich/snack bags. I’m so darn excited! πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      yay for the reusable bags! i’m in love with them already. just using them makes me happy because they’re so cute! let me know if you start the shred again. it’ll be fun to know other people are doing it with me!

  8. ahh goodluck with the 30 day shred! i dont have it but i want to see how it works for you cuz ive heard a lot about it!

  9. Those reusable bags are too cute! Love the pretty patterns!

  10. girl i totally will help decorate your office! i have a few projects around here but when that dies down a bit we can pow wow =)

    • Sarah says:

      yes please! i’m already planning to paint some bottles and jars like you did to hold pens and other office supplies, but i definitely need help. πŸ™‚

  11. The 30 day shred kicked my butt! I was very proud of myself but than I got away from it for a while, when I started back up it again kicked my butt. Really best $9 spent in a long time. What pound do you use with your workout?

    • Sarah says:

      it’s definitely kicking my butt right now! i used 3 or 5 lb dumbbells, depending on the move. my arms are super weak, so i just can’t handle 5 lbs on the shoulder presses and the flies yet. soon i’m sure!

  12. Priyanka says:

    I am a big fan of patterns and colors, just love these bags! I did some shredding long back and totally loved it.

  13. Wow, I’m impressed with your 30day shred challenge! And $9? What a steal! Good luck with this! It’ll be interesting to see your progress

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

