home-cooked valentine’s day!

yesterday morning was g0-go-go! we overslept a little bit & had to rush to make it to brad’s clinic so he didn’t miss his first patient. breakfast was very quick and eaten in the car!

a peanut butter sandwich on a banana! mmm. i’ve never tried this before and i am really a fan. i also had a larabar for a morning snack!

it always hits the spot.

[i wasn’t driving in this pic – i was waiting in my car for brad to get done at clinic!]

*****

lunch was a surprise trip to q’doba! this is the first time i ordered food out during this vegan week.

it was easy to make a vegan meal at q’doba though! it was a naked vegetarian burrito: rice, black beans, corn/black bean salsa, guacamole, and lettuce. delicious and filling!

*****

because of the vegan challenge, brad and i decided to make valentine’s dinner ourselves. of course, i checked out some of my favorite vegan blogs for inspiration. we settled on mama pea’s pasta with roasted tomatoes and olives.

this one looked pretty easy and absolutely delicious, so we chose it quickly! you can check out sarah’s blog for the whole recipe, but here’s a quick recap.

first, we grabbed a beer and got to work!

wash your tomaters.

have your fiance cut up the veggies.

i love catching him in the act! 🙂 cut up olives and basil.

and cook the spaghetti!

toss everything together and eat up.

of course, i knew this would be good, but i wasn’t expecting to love it as much as i did! the flavors went so well together – i especially loved the addition of the green olives.

we spent the rest of the night watching some shows that brad dvr’ed for me and a movie while snuggling on the couch. 🙂

*****

it was a perfect valentine’s celebration for me! i’m not really all about valentine’s day, though. don’t get me wrong, i love getting flowers and chocolate, but i don’t make a big deal about it.

*****

today i’m heading back to madison. i’m going to try to leave early enough so that i can get in a good workout and participate in the twitter chat to wrap up the vegan for a week challenge! it’s always so hard to say good-bye to my love though. 😦 i never leave as early as i intend to…

what about you? valentine’s day – a big deal or not?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, meals, vegan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to home-cooked valentine’s day!

  1. I don’t do olives, so that pasta dish wouldn’t be my top pick. I love that you cooked together and that he is open to vegan dinners.

    I like Valentines now that I have kids. I want to make it a really special family day for them and we do a big pink and red dinner that they really look forward to. Before kids, I wasn’t a big fan. It seems too manufactured.

    I do like the after Valentine’s clearance chocolates though. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      oh that sounds fun! my dad used to make a big deal about valentine’s day for my sister, my mom, and me. 🙂 he’s always give us fancy cards and chocolates and made us princesses for a day. it was great! 🙂

  2. Good for you to do the vegan challenge. Looks like you did really well with it. Valentine’s is give or take in my home, I say this every year, “I don’t need valentine’s day to say I love you, because I love you everyday”.

    • Sarah says:

      aww, i love that! i think it’s easy for us not to make a big deal about valentine’s day right now because we’re long distance, so every time we see each other it’s really special anyway, whether or not it’s a holiday. i think once we live together we might have more of a reason to make it a little more special? maybe? we’ll see!

  3. For my boyfriend Valentine’s Day is set in stone, we have to go out to a fancy place we have never been before. Last year I got to help pick, but this year he is set on this one place. It has an amazing view but it’s all seafood, so I only have one thing to eat off the menu. We are celebrating tonight because I have to work all day tomorrow and he has school most of the night. Leaving is always so hard to do, I wouldn’t leave on time either if I were you.

    • Sarah says:

      oh that’s fun that you try a new place every year! i know i get into ruts with going to the same places over and over so that would be a good way to change things up. 🙂 that’s a bummer that you only have one things on the menu that you like though. i hope it’s REALLY good!

  4. WHAT you have never had banana and pb! i eat like two of those combos a day! ahah… V-day isn’t too big over where i live.. so no plans 😦

  5. Vday is so bleh for me usually. I’ve hated every one ever I think? This one was fun b/c of the road trip!! ❤

    Who knew qdoba could be vegan!? hehe!

    I want a banana sammich!

  6. My husband and I don’t make too big V-Day into an elaborate affair, but we do like celebrating in small ways. Tonight we made ice cream sundaes, and yesterday we went out to breakfast and enjoyed some mimosas!

    By the way, I love the addition of green olives in that recipe. I bet they add a nice little salty kick. Yum!

    • Sarah says:

      aww, that sounds like a great valentine’s celebration. 🙂 and i think the olives were my favorite part of the recipe…or the delicious roasted tomatoes!

  7. V-day is def not a big deal for me.. but i think as i get older il appreciate it more!!.. OH TOTALLLY recommend microwaving your nanner sammie— melty goodness!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

