m.i.a.

ok, so yesterday i was a little m.i.a. i didn’t read any blogs, i didn’t reply to any comments, and i forgot to take photos of my lunch ย even though that’s one of the things i wanted to write about today. oops.

but have no fear. i’m back & all is normal in my world! ๐Ÿ™‚

[edited to add: thank you all so much for the topic suggestions! like i said, i didn’t read comments before writing this post today, so i’ll begin addressing your suggestions tomorrow!]

the reason for my m.i.a.-ness yesterday was the conference that i mentioned i was attending. i left my apartment at 6am yesterday and returned at 6pm. i know being gone for 12 hours in one day isn’t that bad, but it was the early hour that threw me. i was DRAGGING after 2pm. but i survived and i won’t complain anymore!

*****

now, the conference. it was just meh. there were some interesting speakers, but they were definitely geared toward physicians and the clinical aspects of metabolic syndrome. there were only a small handful of speakers and attendees who work primarily in the community. honestly, i think my day would have been better spent at my desk working on my papers. oh well.

i ended up being very happy that i brought my bag of snacks! they did have a huge breakfast buffet set out when we arrived, but i had already eaten, so i grabbed a small plate with pineapple, strawberries, and grapes. yum!

on to lunchtime. the provided a salad bar for lunch. WOOHOO for vegan-friendly food! ๐Ÿ™‚ but as i was making my way through the salad bar, i was shocked at my cravings. i passed up the turkey and cheese, but it was like they were calling my name. i so wanted to just take some of each – hey, no one would know. but then i stopped and gave myself a mental lecture. “this challenge is ONLY for a week. i can absolutely survive without cheese and turkey for a week. what is my problem?!” so after that little pep talk, i happily loaded up on as many veggies as i could fit, headed to a table, and pulled out my emergency hummus. it was a perfect salad with my little hummus + sun-dried tomato sandwich on the side. HUGE temptation avoided. whew.

*****

after my loooong day, the last thing i wanted to do was make dinner. but i had something pretty great on the menu for tonight, so i sucked it up and made my dinner!

i had mama pea’s black bean burgers with a side of “fries”.

the black bean burgers threw me for a bit of a loop though – they called for worchestershire sauce, which traditionally comes with anchovies in it. i wasn’t able to find a vegan version in my grocery shopping trip last weekend, so i sent out a plea on the challenge’s facebook page for help finding one. well, someone awesomely directed me to this recipe for a vegan worchestershire sauce that i could make at home! yes, please! so i whipped up the sauce and the burgers in less than a half hour!

just about the amount of time it took my potato fries to cook! :).

i just roasted the potatoes in a bit of olive oil and seasoned them with 21 seasoning salute + garlic gold nuggets, as always!

and served them on the side of a black bean burger wrap. ๐Ÿ™‚

so good! AND since the recipe made 4 burger patties, i have lots of leftovers, which i love.

*****

have you had any cravings while doing the vegan challenge? even if you aren’t doing the challenge – what do you crave?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to m.i.a.

  1. Cait says:

    wow those look super yummy. i’m not one for vegetarian/vegan but i may just try that ๐Ÿ™‚ great post girl!

  2. So I’m not doing the vegan challenge, but I’ve had vegan dinners 2x this week! I really need to try that black bean burger recipe – I have yet to find one that I really enjoy.

  3. ahh your burger wrap with ‘fries’ sounds so good right now!!!! im not doing the vegan challenge since im already vegan but when i first became vegan i had no cravings!

  4. I was totally MIA on my blog yesterday too. Good luck with the vegan life! that would be a challenge!

  5. Way to go sticking to it, even though no one would know! I’ve never done a vegan challenge, but I’m sure it’s got to be difficult! I love my cheese!!!

  6. I should have followed the recipe for these burgers. I made some yesterday and put everything in the blender…oops. They were not thick enough and didn’t firm up in the middle. They still tasted pretty good ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      oh no! i’m sorry yours didn’t quite end up right. i didn’t use a blender at all, i just mashed the beans with a fork and then mixed everything until it stayed together. easy and fewer dishes!

  7. I am surprised at how little I crave cheese anymore. I lived on cheese for most of my 30ish years (i’m old) and now that I don’t eat it much anymore, I’ve honestly lost my cravings for it.

    I do crave bacon from time to time. And Chicken Fried Steaks with lots of cream gravy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      haha, i think bacon would be the one meat i’d crave if i gave up meat for a long time. and i can see cheese cravings decreasing as you get used to not having it all the time. this vegan challenge definitely made me realize how much cheese i actually eat! it’s a lot. i’m planning to cut it down even after the challenge is over.

  8. Bethany says:

    Oh my goodness, that meal looks really great!! I had no idea that worchestershire sauce contains anchovies. Weird!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

