success (and peanut flour!)

well, day 1 of the vegan challenge went really well! šŸ™‚ i did miss cheese on my salad at lunch and i could have really gone for a little yogurt mess as a snack this afternoon. other than that, no problems!

i know i told you yesterday what was on the meal plan for the whole day, but here’s the recap!

overnight oats for breakfast

with some lemon water on the side

*****

lunch was a gigantic salad with mixed greens, carrots, green peppers, celery, grape tomatoes, and broccoli. i had balsamic vinegar and garlic hummus for dressing.

this salad was definitely missing some oomph, so i was very happy that i had a great snack! a big green apple with some unsalted crunchy tj’s peanut butter.

that apple was JUICY! i needed a napkin while i was eating it!

*****

an (unphotographed) after-work snack was a slice of BOMB whole wheat artisan bread with some white bean hummus from tj’s!

*****

dinner was a bomb stir fry! i was going to do my typical stir fry tonight. i used to make a HUGE batch of stir fry once a week and eat it for lunches all week. but i decided to change it up (plus i bought a bag of peanut flour yesterday and it was burning a hole in my pocket pantry!)

i cooked some fresh celery and minced garlic in sesame oil. then i added a whole bag of trader joe’s harvest hodgepodge (frozen mixed veggies) and let it cook up.

my sauce of choice was emily from the daily garnish‘s peanut sauce! i followed her recipe exactly, so you can check it out at her blog. i will say it’s a mixture of peanut flour, soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil, and water.

i dumped that in with the veggies to help them cook! and then finally i added in some cubed tofu.

i let it cook on low for about 5 minutes to warm everything and to let the peanut sauce flavor soak into everything! i planned to serve my stir fry on brown rice, and then at the last minute just threw the rice in with the mixture too.

it was topped with peanuts (it’s a really unattractive brown mix…sorry) and enjoyed with another mug of warm lemon water. (can’t get enough of that!)

*****

here’s my meal plan for today. it’s a good one, i’m excited!

breakfast: hot oatmeal with pumpkin!

lunch: peanut stir fry in a wrap

dinner: roasted veggies and succotash

*****

i don’t plan on blogging every single meal this week, but since yesterday was my first day of the challenge, i thought it would be fun to show everything!

have you cooked with peanut flour? what did you make?

this peanut sauce was my first attempt – i liked it. šŸ™‚

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, meals, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to success (and peanut flour!)

  1. Try daiya to get your cheese fix:) I can’t get my hands on peanut flour around here-I’m hoping to grab some at TJ’s when I go to the city in a few wks, i’m hoping it’s not off the shelves yet!

  2. I had a blogging friend send me some peanut flour since there are no Trader Joe’s in TX. I’m kinda hoarding my bag, afraid to use it up. šŸ™‚ I stirred it in some overnight oats and used it in a smoothie. I think I’ll try adding it to pancakes next – maybe I’ll make the bear pancakes you mentioned. šŸ˜‰

    • Sarah says:

      haha, i think your kids would love those bear pancakes! šŸ™‚ i saw a great peanut flour + yogurt + honey concoction on another blog recently, so after this vegan week i’m going to try that as a snack.

  3. Peanut flour makes making peanut sauce so much easier! Your dinner bowl of goodness looks so good šŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      thanks heather! šŸ™‚ and thanks for stopping by my blog. i just checked yours out – i wish i had seen your blog before i did my vegan meal planning – i would have definitely used some of your recipes! (i will still make them anyway, even when my vegan week is over). šŸ™‚

  4. wow! ive never cooked savory dishes with it- only sweet ones!! the sauce sounds awesome!

  5. I love TJ’s peanut flour! They are actually discontinuing it though šŸ˜¦ I have a killer truffle recipe I use it in. When my vegan challenge is over, I’ll have to make them again!

  6. I think it’s really funny we both made stir fry with peanut sauce yesterday – and ate the leftovers for lunch today! Glad to hear it sounds like the vegan week is going well for you, too!

  7. yay for making it through day 1!!!!! everything sounded delish. and now i want stir fry!

  8. I haven’t cooked with peanut flour yet, but I’ve been seeing it all over the place these days! I’ll have to give it a shot soon!

  9. Stirfry and peanut sauce sound wonderful! And in a wrap would be scrumptious too!
    I haven’t used peanut flour before. But I’m open to it.

  10. I saw a ton of peanut flour at my local Trader Joe’s this past weekend. I hope it’s still there in a few days, I want to try it before it’s discontinued!

    By the way, were you looking for a vegan Worcestershire sauce? Namaste Gurl just posted about one today! http://www.namastegurl.com/no-juice-tuesday/

    • Sarah says:

      thanks, courtney! i actually found a recipe for homemade vegan worchestershire sauce! it was super easy and it worked well in the recipe i used it for. šŸ™‚

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

