superbowl xlv champions!!!

first, it just has to be said…

the packers are the superbowl champions!!!

i am beyond ecstatic about this! πŸ™‚ i watched the game at the great dane with my friends from my program. it was intense and i was a little worried for bit, but my boys pulled it off! so pumped!

while at the dane, i had my last meal. ok, being dramatic. i had my last non-vegan meal for a week. what did i choose?

wisconsin mac & cheese! (duh.)


served with a delicious pretzel. mmm, thank you great dane. i have definitely satisfied my cheese and butter cravings for at least a week. it was so good!

ok, football talk is over.

*****

i mentioned that i did some meal planning and made a grocery list for the vegan for a week challenge.


well, after planning, i headed out to the supermarkets (at noon on superbowl sunday – not a great idea). my first stop was trader joe’s, as always! i got almost everything on my list from there! and surprisingly, i didn’t buy much that i don’t normally get. my cart was full of produce, some frozen veggies + blueberries, and hummus. i also found some delicious vegan artisan bread. i did get one impulse item: peanut flour! i heard it is being discontinued and i didn’t want to miss out on trying it.

then i headed to my conventional supermarket to pick up the other random things i didn’t find at tj’s: dates, ww flour (i only wanted a little bag and tj’s had MASSIVE bags), pickles, and worchestershire sauce. but i learned a disturbing fact: WORCHESTERSHIRE SAUCE HAS ANCHOVIES IN IT! did anyone else know this? i had no clue. anyone know where i girl can find some vegan worchestershire?

anyway, here are my goodies for the week:


and the other half:


(this will definitely last me more than a week, by the way…)

*****

i mentioned how excited i am for this challenge, but i haven’t really talked about the rest of my thoughts on it. i am not vegan or vegetarian, as i’m sure you know if you’ve been reading my blog for long. but, i do believe it is important to know where your food comes from as much as possible. i like what michael pollan says: eating is a very political act. you vote 3 times a day with your fork. it’s so true! so this week i’m excited to vote vegan.

*****

today’s meal plan is not very exciting. i’m easing my way into this vegan thing! πŸ™‚ this morning my breakfast was overnight oats.

i used 1/3 c oats, 1 T chia seeds, 1 small banana, 1 T oat bran, 1 T ground flaxseed, 1 T raisins, and 3/4 c almond milk. then i topped it with blueberries, coconut, and granola (there was honey in the granola, but from my research, it seems honey is on the fence for vegans? – some eat it and some don’t…).

i also had some warm lemon water.

(just trying to help out my digestive system after my mac & cheese overload from last night!)

*****

lunch is a HUGE salad with hummus for the dressing and an apple + pb for a snack!

*****

dinner tonight will be a veggie + tofu stir fry over brown rice (i have some rice that i need to use up).

*****

just a quick note: my friend lindsay at the lean green bean is having an awesome giveaway for reusable snack bags. go over there, check it out, and go green!

*****

whew! you get a (vegan) cookie if you read all of that! πŸ™‚

are you vegan? vegetarian? have you ever tried either?

i was vegetarian for a while in high school – i think it lasted about 6 months. i was just kind of trying it out, and decided it wasn’t for me…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, meals, vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to superbowl xlv champions!!!

  1. I keep forgetting my lemon water in the morning! somehow I zombie shuffle over to the coffee first and before i realize what I have done.. it’s to late! hahaha!

    I’m so excited to see what you make for vegan week! =) I have two mindblowing vegan recipes if you ever need some inspiration ❀

    • Sarah says:

      please pass on the recipes! πŸ™‚ i might not make them this week since i already did a huge supermarket stock-up, but i will definitely try them soon. are either of them man-approved? i have two blank spots on my meal plan for the two dinners that i will be in st. louis for this weekend.

  2. yay! thanks for posting about my giveaway πŸ™‚ sounds like you have some good stuff coming up for vegan week. i went meatless for about 3 months last year. it was mainly a challenge to myself to see if i could do it for a month. i lasted three. i also almost went vegetarian in high school but i was a big athlete and was worried i wouldn’t get enough protein because i was a pretty picky eater. it’s not for me either…but i think it’s cool that all of you guys are doing it!

    • Sarah says:

      yeah, i’m trying to pack in as many beans and nuts as i can this week. i usually eat a lot of hard-boiled eggs for my protein-packed snacks since i really don’t eat a lot of meat most of the time, so i was a little concerned about cutting them out. but i think i’ll be fine – and it’s only for a week! πŸ™‚

  3. Yeah, lemon water! Now you need to add some freshly grated ginger. So good! πŸ™‚

  4. I have a silly question but what are over night oats? I am guessing you make them at night, but how? I love oatmeal and normally bring it to work to eat. I don’t have enough time in the morning to cook them, wait for them to cool down, and then really enjoy them. They sound amazing! Also does the lemon and water really work? Thanks!

    • Sarah says:

      they’re super easy! you just mix together all of the ingredients the night before, pop it in the fridge, and enjoy it in the morning! i usually eat them cold, but i know some people like to warm them up.

      if you don’t want vegan oats, here is my usual mixture: 1/3 cup rolled oats, 1/3 cup skim milk, 1/3 cup vanilla or plain yogurt, 1 Tbsp ground flax, 1 Tbsp chia seeds, 1 Tbsp oat bran, 1 small banana (mashed), 1 Tbsp raisins. the flax, chia seeds, oat bran, and raisins are totally optional – i just like to add them for more fiber (and a sweet treat from the raisins)!

  5. YES i m currently vegan and LOVING IT.. hope it goes well for you!!

  6. Good luck on the challenge! I’m doing it too.

    I’m not vegan or vegetarian, but I don’t eat much animal products on a daily basis.

    I’m also a huge fan of lemon water- so good for you!

  7. I LOVE that your last non-vegan meal was mac & cheese! I would totally be getting my cheese fix, too! Have you tried the Vegan cheeses yet? I haven’t (kinda scured), so you’ll have to let us know what you think!

    • Sarah says:

      i haven’t tried the vegan cheeses – i didn’t buy any because i didn’t want to get a bunch of “fake” foods to replace what i can’t eat. i wanted to try to focus on more real whole foods. but i might have to go check out daiya (sp?). i seriously missed my little sprinkle of shredded cheese on my salad today. 😦

  8. mmm, mac & cheese πŸ™‚

    love seeing your first day’s plan! i hope it went well!!

  9. janetha says:

    I am excited to see what you eat this week! Great job on day #1. And I love what you picked for your last non vegan meal. Cheesy πŸ™‚ If you miss cheese this week, try to find some Daiya. It melts and it really does taste good!

    I did know that about Worcestershire.. not sure where to find the vegan version. But something I learned about Lea & Perrins Worcestershire the other day is that it has HFCS! Laaaame! I grew up with that brand, so I was bummed. Tossed the bottle.

    Half my vegan friends eat honey and the other half don’t. Definitely an on the fence issue.

    Yay, Green Bay!

    • Sarah says:

      so many people have recommended daiya – i really should go try to find some. i’m thinking whole foods?

      and i got a recipe for vegan worchestershire sauce – so i think i’ll make that instead of buying some! plus, this way i KNOW it won’t have HFCS!

  10. I’ve been vegetarian since November, but I have been eating mostly vegetarian for the last couple of years, so it wasn’t a big change. I try to eat several vegan meals, but I really don’t feel like a full vegan diet is for me. Maybe if I was just cooking for myself I could do it, but I don’t feel right about putting my kids on a vegan diet and don’t have the energy to make multiple dishes for each meal – like a vegan option for me and a non-vegan option for them. Looking forward to following your week of eating.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

