snoozed

happy friday!! oh boy, i am TIRED today. brad came to madison last night, but he wasn’t able to leave st. louis until about 6pm, so he arrived here a little before midnight. i stayed up until about 20 minutes before he got here, which is WAAAAY past my bedtime! 😦 we snoozed the alarm for almost an hour this morning! i think a nap is in order for later today. πŸ™‚

*****

last night i finally got my booty to the gym! i spent an hour on the treadmill watching grey’s (!!) and then did a quick 20 minutes of weights. i realized that i need to think about what moves i’m going to do BEFORE i get to the gym. otherwise i get there and my mind goes blank and i end up skimping on my workout because i don’t know what to do. anyone have a great strength training workout they want to pass on?

*****

i promised you guys the recipe for my delicious veggie-filled soup i made on my snow day, so here it is!

snow day veggie soup

ingredients:

  • 1-2 T olive oil (to saute veggies)
  • 1 cup of carrots, sliced into 1″ chunks and cut in half
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 quart sliced mushrooms
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 (15 oz) cans beans of your choice*, drained and rinsed
  • 16 oz. bag baby spinach leaves
  • 7 oz chicken or turkey sausage** – kielbasa “flavor”, cut in half, and then in 1/2 inch pieces (optional)

*i used one can of chickpeas and one can of kidney beans, because that’s what i had. i imagined this soup with great northern beans, though.

**i used trader joe’s chicken sausage and it was perfect!

method:

1. gather and prep ingredients

2. saute carrots, onion, garlic, and sausage on medium heat stirring occasionally for about 8 minutes, add mushrooms after about 4 minutes (they take less time to cook)

3. add broth, italian seasoning, pepper, and beans. bring to a boil, then simmer for 5 minutes until carrots are cooked to desired consistency

4. blend 2 cups of soup in food processor or blender (i skipped this step because i wanted a broth-y soup).

5. simmer an additional 5 minutes and remove from heat. add spinach and stir until spinach wilts.

yield: 6-8 1.5 cup servings

nutritional information (including sausage): calories: 227; fat: 3.9 g (sat: 1.2g); carbs: 31g; fiber: 7g; protein: 17g

this soup is great because you can really customize it to your preferences and what is in your kitchen!

i served it with tea and cheddar wafers.

i had some leftovers for dinner last night and it was absolutely delicious a day later, too!

*****

today i’m heading to work and brad is meeting with a chiropractic practice in madison for a potential job. then later tonight his parents are coming down to see him and take us out to dinner. yay for free meals! πŸ™‚

are you more of a fan of cardio workouts or strength workouts?

i’m definitely more comfortable doing cardio workouts, but i love being sore the day after a great strength training session.

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to snoozed

  1. Cait says:

    Omg Sarah that just looks SO yummy! PS I LOVE going to the gym and watching a favorite tv show to keep me motivated, and then an hour goes by SO fast! I think I def enjoy doing more cardio work outs because I feel like I’m working up a good sweat- but I agree, I love being sore after a good strength training session to feel like you worked those muscles! Happy Friday girl!

    • Sarah says:

      i love watching my favorite shows at the gym too! finishing the show i’m watching is always great motivation to stay on a machine longer. πŸ™‚

  2. LOVE free meals πŸ™‚ and that soup looks great! i know what you mean about the gym….if i don’t have a plan, i just go, do the elliptical and leave. i guess that’s better than nothing right?!

    • Sarah says:

      definitely better than nothing! πŸ™‚ i’ve been listening to a podcast on my drives to and from st. louis about health and fitness. they REALLY emphasize the importance of strength training and i’m trying to do more, but that’s why i need a plan!

  3. I love any workout. Seriously. I LOVE exercise. Although strength training will always have my heart. And I always have to have a plan. I actually really enjoy making them up.

    • Sarah says:

      i did your featured move of the week last week! i really liked the move with the stability ball. and the one from the week before (the planks) made me realize how weak my core is! i was shaking within 15 seconds!

  4. Kristina says:

    I always try and fit in some sort of cardio but I love strength sessions-strong like bull!

  5. ahhhhh its totally lunch time! This looks good. I want those crackers in my belly stat! and the soup too! =)

    ❀ I'm still limping from spinning on wed. no gym for me!

  6. Wow – that looks great! I am the same way about working out – I do so much better if I have a plan going into it. Otherwise, I slack off!

  7. Lately I am enjoying Spin and Zumba classes a bit more than strength training – I like leaving a class really sweaty and tired. I kind of ebb and flow with my workout preferences. I’m sure I’ll be loving strength training next month. πŸ™‚

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

