confessions from a snow day

oh boy guys, i have some confessions to make from yesterday.

1. i did not leave my apartment all day.

2. i did not shower.

3. i did not change out of my pajamas all day.

4. i did not do even a TINY bit of work on my paper.

want to know what i did instead?

1. i FINALLY busted out my knitting needles and got started on a scarf thing? i really just wanted to get back into the flow of knitting, and this is what i worked on. not really sure if i like it, but eh. oh well! πŸ™‚

2. i made jenna’s cheddar wafers that she posted about yesterday.

as soon as i saw the post, i knew i was going to make them – and i told her so!

and then about two hours later i got this text from my sister

it made me laugh that she KNEW i would love those crackers! thanks for thinking of me, liz! πŸ™‚

3. i watched tuesday night’s biggest loser! wow – all i can say is that i’m happy both of the black team members had lost weight when they did the follow-up part at the end of the show. and i really really love the purple and pink teams! πŸ™‚

4. i made an AWESOME cold winter day soup.

5. i made another diy scarf! i had one more shirt that i didn’t end up using on monday night, so i tried the new method that jenn posted! i like it (but i forgot to take a photo…).

6. i FINALLY busted out the manual for my point & shoot camera and started learning the advanced settings! i’ve got to say – i just got started, but wow! i had NO IDEA you could do so much with those cameras. hopefully my photos start to improve!

7. i read more of the sharper your knife, the less you cry. i like it, but it hasn’t pulled me in to the point where i can’t put it down. most of the time i really get sucked into books, but this one is taking me FOREVER to finish!

8. i played words with friends on my iphone. i just got the game & i’m slightly obsessed! πŸ™‚ i guess i’m a scrabble nerd. if anyone wants to play, my id is sarahlearns (of course!).

9. finally, i made a list of mini goals for february! i know it’s the 3rd, but better late than never, right? so here they are!

  • learn my camera. i don’t expect to be an expert by the end of the month, but i want to continue to learn the settings and improve my photos.
  • yoga 1x per week and strength training 1x per week.
  • vegan for a week. i’m participating in morgan’s vegan for a week challenge starting next monday. i’m excited to see how i do! πŸ™‚
  • get back in touch with friends. i have a list of about 5 or 6 friends that i owe phone calls to. it’s been over a month (or two) since i’ve caught up with these girls and that just won’t do.

now that i wrote them down, i better follow through with them! πŸ™‚

do you have a favorite team on the biggest loser?

or

did you set any goals for february? what are they?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to confessions from a snow day

  1. Cait says:

    great post girl! I’m going to try and make one of them eventaully because I have so many old shirts that I don’t wear but would love to either give away or do something with them like make a scarf! I have so many goals for February (posted on the blog) but I think one of the few would be continuing working out as often as possible, keep up with my studies, read all about 6/10 books (ahh!) and volunteer!

  2. enjoy those cheddar wafers while you can MUAHAHAHAHA πŸ˜‰

    On my snow day I spent all morning trying to figure out why the video I made for yesterday’s post had no sound, and then re-recording it multiple times. Then I took a nap (do NOT tell Brad!) and then I finally started my homework.

    • Sarah says:

      hahahaha! oh don’t worry – the crackers will be gone before monday, no problem! πŸ™‚

      your snow day sounds pretty good (minus the video mishaps – the one you posted was great!). i’m impressed that you worked on homework. i had absolutely no motivation to do any real work! oh well…

  3. My goals are a hot mess! I have them written on about 3-4 different pads or pieces of paper and I’m certain I told myself no computer today…. yup. not allowed.

    hello anyways- send crackers! ttysoon

  4. Kristina says:

    I think i have the same list from my snow day, haha.
    My goals are all over-eating clean is top priority right now

  5. Bethany says:

    Sounds like a great snow day! My February goals are all over, like Kristina’s — but I’m mostly just trying to stay on top of my stress!

  6. sounds like you had quite a productive snow day even without leaving your pjs πŸ™‚ those are the best kind!!

  7. What a fun snow day! I would have stayed in my pj’s all day if I had the chance! πŸ™‚

    I haven’t been watching this season’s Biggest Loser, but I’ve heard so much about it. I should try and find the past episodes online.

  8. I can’t get on board with Words With Friends. I am too loyal to the official Scrabble. Which limits me to playing with facebook friends only, but that’s probably a good thing. The munchkins and I are having a kinda-like a snow day here in TX (no snow, but too cold to be outside). They just took a break from a movie to play and I’m enjoying a chance to be online.

  9. I had a really lazy snow day, too! I had grand plans for getting all sorts of work done, but instead I only got a little bit of reading done for the class I’m teaching.

    My February goals are to get back on track with working out 5-6 times a week, and to balance teaching (and grading/meeting with students/answer a billion student e-mails) and working on my own research.

    • Sarah says:

      oh good goals! it’s so hard to focus on your own research when you are ta’ing. students definitely don’t understand that you have other work besides the class they’re taking!

  10. Those cheddar wafers look yum!!! Also, I started watching this season’s Biggest Loser and I’ve forgotten about it. 😦 I need to get back into it!

  11. That sounds like the PERFECT snow day! πŸ™‚ I was having the same kind of day, but by 5PM I was feeling antsy & went to the gym!
    What kind of camera do you have? I have a Nikon d300. I might be able to help you out!

    • Sarah says:

      ahh, i wish i would have gotten my butt to the gym on my snow day. i would have felt a lot better about it! i just ended up doing double time last night!

      i have a pretty cheap point & shoot – its’ a nikon coolpix s3000. i learned all about white balance settings on wednesday and it already makes such a difference! πŸ™‚

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

