what i ate wednesday, part ii

hey everybody! guess what, today is a snow day! i woke up to this view out my window.

honestly, it’s not so bad. but the buses aren’t running, so neither is my car! (unless i want to go to the gym later.) 😉

i have big plans for this snow day! first, i’m going to get some work done on the paper that i’m writing – i’m thinking a half day of work is appropriate given the snow day! then it will be a good mix of reading, drinking tea, making the new version of jenn’s diy scarf, perhaps some knitting, trying a new soup recipe, and who knows what else! 🙂 i love all the possibilities.

*****

now on to the good stuff! today i’m linking up to jenn’s “what i ate wednesday” again.

breakfast was enjoyed at my desk.

i had overnight oats topped with blueberries & shredded coconut. i also had some tea, water, and my vitamins. do you notice anything missing??? COFFEE! i didn’t have any coffee at all yesterday. go me! i’m trying to decrease my consumption – i hate that i feel like i need it every morning.

*****

moving on to lunch:

i had a chobani

and some veggies (carrots, celery, mushrooms, green peppers) and hummus. i ate during our lunchtime seminar again – those veggies were LOUD. i ended up saving them to finish after seminar.

mid-afternoon i had some more tea! this one was a detox tea and a lemon tea mixed together.

*****

and finally, dinner!

i bought a plain cheese pizza from the market next to my apartment building.

i chopped up some veggies to spruce it up a little (and some extra cheese, of course)!

all ready to go in the oven!

mmm, look at that melty goodness!

i served up two slices and went back for one more (unphotographed) slice!

*****

after dinner i was reading blogs and i saw that heather posted a recipe for ginger maple muffins and i remembered that i had a ginger nubbin’ (that’s what heather called it and i loved it!) in my fridge, so i whipped them up.

i followed the recipe pretty closely, except i didn’t have whole wheat flour, so i used all-purpose and i didn’t have pure maple syrup so i used an agave and maple syrup blend from trader joe’s. it worked perfectly!

aren’t they cute and fluffy!

i let them cool for a couple minutes and then i dug in! they’re not the sweetest muffins, but the ginger gives it some great spice.

i put a little (homemade) jam on the second half to change it up. these are great for a snack! i might figure out the nutrition facts today, so if i do i’ll update this post!

*****

it was a great day of food! 🙂

do you have a snow day today? what are you doing with your time?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, meals, wiaw and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to what i ate wednesday, part ii

  1. Cait says:

    So happy for a snow day as well 🙂 I may post some pictures later to let you all see what I see, but it’s pretty much the same white out blizzard! I have a few papers to write for Grad school, reading to do, and perhaps a bit of blogging 🙂 Yay!

  2. I’m super curious about the muffin nutrition deets! I liiiiiived of off snazzed up pizza when I was working overtime in FL! like seriously lived off of it! plain cheeese with any veg/fruit in the house — yours looks sooooo goood! ❤

    Another fabulous day of eating from Sarah! duh =) Thanks for linking up love!

  3. ahhaha i hate how loud veggie crunchin is!!… great muffins!! those look tasty!

  4. I do not have a snow day today but could definatley go for one! Not in norcal though! If I did I would make some marshmallow fondent and make a carrot cake with cream cheese frosting…and probably find a way to the gym cuz it is less than 5 min from my house! P.s. those muffins look delish..and hopefully if you find out they can be delish and nutrish!

    • Sarah says:

      eek, i still haven’t done the nutrition stats! i need to get on that. and wow, you have a high ambition for your non-existent snow day! 🙂

  5. No snow day here – I’m jealous of yours! 🙂
    Those muffins look divine. Very fluffy and perfectly golden brown!

    • Sarah says:

      i’m so pumped about how well they turned out! i am not much of a baker, so i always just kinda mix it all together and cross my fingers. and this time it worked! 🙂

  6. those muffins look awesome! especially with the jam 🙂

  7. That pizza looks very yummy. I love veggie pizza!

  8. I have to say, I must be an idiot or something, but your post gave me a total “aha” moment! I LOVE lots of toppings on my pizzas, but it’s always more expensive! If I just get a cheese pizza, I end up eating just like that (with nothing but cheese!) WHY do I not ALWAYS just add my veggies on top before I bake it? WHY am I such a “square” that I’ve never thought of this before!? I really feel ashamed of myself! ; )
    Thanks for enlightening me!

    • Sarah says:

      i’m glad i could help! 🙂 the pizzas are pretty expensive at the market i stopped at, so i got plain cheese because it was about $2 cheaper less than their choices WITH toppings! 🙂 plus, this was you can customize it to suit multiple people’s tastes buy doing different toppings on half the pizza, etc. 🙂

  9. Those muffins are making me hungry. A little jealous of your snow day too. :)g

  10. We top our own pizza a lot. It’s so much cheaper and I generally have all the veggies at home sitting in the fridge. Good luck with the coffee detox!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

