feeling off.

i’ve got to say, sleeping in my own bed never felt better than last night!

ahh, i've missed you, bed.

the past 5 days have been a little crazy for me, and it’s made me feel a little off. i haven’t slept in my own bed, i have cooked approximately 1 meal (cheese explosion burgers), had quite a few meals out, and it’s definitely messed with me. i don’t feel sick, but i don’t feel right.

yesterday, i left my friend’s house where i’ve been house-sitting since monday and drove into work. she lives in sun prairie, which is about a 40 minute drive into campus in morning traffic, as opposed to my 10-15 minute bus ride. plus, i had to do the whole feed her animals, let them out, throw together breakfast in an unfamiliar kitchen thing, so i got to work about an hour later than i usually do.

work was fine, but blah. i finished a project i’ve been working on for a while and made some progress on a new one. i got home at about 5pm. i unpacked a little,then i laid on the couch and watched an episode of satc to relax a little. before i knew it i had 20 minutes to get ready for my birthday dinner!

we ate indian food at maharani (my FAVORITE indian food). it was delicious & i had so much fun at dinner that i completely forgot to photograph anything. we went for one drink after dinner, and then i was home by 10:30.

i did something totally un-me. i didn’t unpack my laundry basket of clean clothes (i wash my clothes at brad’s bc they have a washer/dryer in their house).

i didn’t pick up my clothes from the floor.

so i woke up this morning feeling wiped out and strange.

*****

i’m doing everything i can do to change that feeling today! starting with a good breakfast to get me back on track:

chobani mixed with oats, oat bran, and chia seeds with 2 dates + an orange + my vitamins.

and coffee, of course!

i also hit my 40 hours of free listening on pandora yesterday. i don’t know about you, but when i’m working at my computer all day, i NEED my music. i usually hit my limit about a week before the month ends, so i end up being music-less for a week at the end of every month & i hate it. so i finally bit the bullet and got pandora one.

yay! i love it – and i might just be a total dork, but i LOVE the custom skins they let you pick. how can that cute owl not make you happy?

continuing the effort to pull myself back together, my plan for the rest of the day is:

  • work – begin writing another manuscript draft
  • gym for some treadmill action (i’m not doing very well on my 500 miles goal)
  • unpack
  • clean
  • re-pack
  • do my nails + pluck my eyebrows (hey, a girl’s gotta look good, right?)
  • bed by 10pm at the LATEST

here’s hoping i can stick to that plan!

what things make you feel “off”?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to feeling off.

  1. Travelling and staying with friends and family always make me feel super “off”

    A post-trip detox is always in order — you’re def off to a great start with your breakfast and list of things you want to get accomplished =) You’ll be back to fabulousness in no time!

    xoxo

  2. There’s NOTHING like sleeping in your own bed! Cute bedspread, by the way! And I’m totally there with ya on the plucking & painting nails! Gotta take time for yourself…plus it just makes you feel so much better, ya know?

  3. I definitely know what you mean about sleeping in your own bed — man does it feel good after being away! Traveling makes me feel weird — especially when I’m leaving my family. The combination of missing them, plus traveling a long distance is just… too much. A good night’s sleep usually does wonders, though!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

