1.11.11

how many other blog posts have that title today?!? i know of at least one. oh well, that’s what i woke up thinking of, so i’m sticking to it! πŸ™‚

**********

another thing i’m thinking of right now that i’m so excited to share is that one of my absolute favorite bloggers welcomed a little man to her family early this morning! (1.11.11 – what a great birthday!) congratulations, tina! i’m so excited for you and your family.

**********

ok, on to business. last night was a turning point for me.

i made my first ever green monster smoothie.

i’ve been seeing these smoothies on blogs forever, but i’ve never quite gotten up the nerve to make and eat one myself. maybe it’s because i only have a cheap hand-me-down blender, not a fancy vitamix. or maybe it’s because even after everyone insisted that you can’t taste the spinach, i really didn’t believe them.

but, last night i pulled up my big girl pants and got to work!

first, i gathered the ingredients.


  • some spinach that was on it’s last day
  • banana
  • almond milk (my first time trying this – yum!)
  • vanilla protein powder


i also threw in some oats, ice, and vanilla yogurt for bulk because the smoothie seemed a little runny.

i blended it all up and prayed that my blender wouldn’t die.


i didn’t die! i decided to do a smoothie in a bowl because i wanted to EAT my dinner; not DRINK it.

i topped it with:

  • bear naked fruit and nut granola
  • coconut butter
  • shredded coconut

it was so. good.

i am officially a green monster convert. i’m already planning mine for dinner tonight! πŸ™‚

random question: does anyone know if coconut butter goes bad or if you can possibly heat it up too many times? mine is not nearly as white colored and drippy when i heat it up as it used to be. it still tasted fine though.

ok, off to attempt productivity at work today even though it’s a gloomy snow day out there. (seriously, i almost slipped onto my butt about 10 times walking to the bus this morning.)

who else used to stay in bed in college on days like this?

my roommates and i would declare “pajama day” and do everything in our power to not leave our apartment on days like this!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, meals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 1.11.11

  1. i think the title is quite appropriate πŸ™‚ personally, i’m holding out for nov 11!

    • Sarah says:

      that will be a good date! i love anything that’s palindromic too, so the next 9 days (1.12.11-1.19.11) are exciting to me, too.

  2. I made today pajama day πŸ˜‰ Though I do have to run out into the cold for a dinner date. boo!

    everyone is on a 1111 kick today! hehe- I love it! ❀

    and legos… they are awesome as long as they stay out from under my bare feet! owch!!!

  3. I love the idea of pajama days! I didn’t realize it had snowed as much as it did until I heard someone using a snow blower outside. I think it’s supposed to snow more tonight – boo! I want snow when it’s actually work day for me!

    • Sarah says:

      i know! a snow plow woke me up this morning. not cool. if it’s snowing again tomorrow, i’m going to make it a work from home in sweats day! πŸ™‚

  4. Priyanka says:

    I have never tried coconut butter before, but coconut rancidity is pretty easy to detect. It tastes sharp after some time!

    Sarah, I just tagged you for the stylish blogger award on my blog, check it out!

    • Sarah says:

      ok, then it’s not rancid! it still tasted delicious as ever – just looks a little funny! and thanks for tagging me! how fun. πŸ™‚

  5. Mmmmm coconut butter AND almond milk! Now I’m hungry! I’ll have to put a little coconut butter in my next GM!

    • Sarah says:

      it really was so delicious! i’m trying to use it up – i’ve had that jar for a while – so i will be eating a lot more coconut butter in the near future. yum!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

