motivated no more

i was SO proud of myself for getting to the gym this morning before coming into the lab! i got to check off one of my “big” things on my to-do list for today, now i have my whole evening to myself, and it was a pretty good workout, too!

then i got to lab.

(crickets chirping)

i’ve pretty much done nothing.

well, not NOTHING. i finished the header for the blog (much better than that temporary one that i threw together last week, right?), i read a LOT of blogs and found some new recipes that i MUST try soon, tweeted a little…. what’s that? oh yeah…i didn’t really do any work.

i mean, i did SOME work, but nothing like what i had intended to do. i had a grand plan of finishing all of the (extensive) edits that my advisor wants me to do to the draft of the paper i’m writing to submit to an obesity journal. see all those edits? i have a lot of work to do…

some progress was made, but i had to transfer that task to tomorrow’s “to-do” list. 😦

see, the thing is, i’m a graduate student. my main thesis project is a summer intervention for overweight middle school children. so that means that, except for the 10 weeks of the year that i’m out doing fieldwork, i work on other data analysis projects. analyzing data that other people collected and then didn’t analyze for whatever reason. while these are interesting and will get me several papers published, it’s hard to work in statistical analysis programs and write up protocols and analysis methods all day. especially when you’re like me and you crave interaction with people.

i know i could have cranked out those edits today. i just didn’t feel motivated to get it done.

i think i need a “stay motivated at your desk and work” inspiration board. does anyone have any quotes that are motivational and apply to a situation like mine? any other suggestions to help me keep trudging along in my work?

(source)

i’ve come up with an idea of my own to fix this slump:  GET OUT OF THE OFFICE! i hate monotony in my life and sitting at my desk staring at stats all day is awful. plus, i share a small lab with two other girls. one of them is gone visiting family in puerto rico for two weeks and the other only works half days.

let me show you what my office looked like this afternoon:

my little area - lots of fun pictures but it gets old

one lab mate's area

other lab mate's space

now, just so you can get the full picture, here’s the whole lab:

now from my corner:

not exactly a super stimulating environment! so, tomorrow morning i plan to work from…STARBUCKS! yay! 🙂 i’m already excited – why didn’t i think of this before?!?

now on to something a little more fun than my office…

breakfast!

i pretty much eat the same thing for breakfast every day. at least every weekday that i go in to lab: overnight oats!

this batch included:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/3 cup vanilla yogurt from trader joe’s
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1 T ground flaxseed
  • 1 T raisins
  • 1/2 banana, mashed

and toppings were:

  • 1 T frut and nuts bear naked granloa
  • 1/2 T shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries

i add the toppings the night before and then just put it all in the fridge. that way, the frozen blueberries thaw overnight!

mmm. i like to change up my toppings, but i’ve eaten this exact combination for 2 or 3 weeks in a row (started before the holiday break) and it’s a pretty good one! 🙂

how do you keep yourself motivated at work? school?

lab is both school and work for me, and i find that i’m a major procrastinator.

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in breakfast, grad school, meals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

