pack it up, pack it in

let me begin. i came to win. battle me that’s a sin…..

who else loves that song by house of pain? it always brings back two great memories for me. one, of course, is the movie mrs. doubtfire.

second, is that they play that song after the 3rd quarter at wisconsin badger football games. let me tell you. 3 minutes of jumping up and down in bleachers is exhausting + dangerous. i always end up bruising my shins somehow.

(source)

this morning brad and i packed up our cars to drive back to st. louis and madison. 😦 i’m almost ashamed at how much stuff i had packed into my little jeep imagine two laundry baskets full of clean, folded clothes/towels. a big duffle bag packed full of more clothes (most of which, i didn’t wear, but brought home “just in case”). a bag of christmas presents, shoes, dirty clothes, a gym bag, and a backpack carrying my laptop… geez.

needless to say, once i got back to madison it took me 5 trips to carry it all inside.

i literally groaned out loud when i looked at all of that stuff piled on my counter to unpack. after about an hour and a half, i had all of that stuff unpacked except for a few new presents that need homes.

then it was time to address this situation:

and this:

can you tell i was away for 2 weeks?

but after a quick trip to trader joe’s (love), things were looking a little more like normal.

my sister brought me a little treat from costco in cali (i don’t have a costco membership and i can’t find this stuff at my normal grocery stores in madison…)

FARRO! 🙂 i’ve seen this on blogs a lot recently and have been intrigued. plus liz whipped up a yummy + easy farro salad over thanksgiving and i’ve been wanted to recreate it ever since! this is the easiest side dish ever – only 3 ingredients!

sun-dried tomato and farro salad

ingredients:

1 cup dry farro, cooked

1/4 cup balsamic viniagrette

1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes, drained

just mix up all of the ingredients.

makes 4 servings. ~290 calories/serving

it’s easy and flavorful!

my plan for the rest of the night is to fill in important info in my new planner (!!). liz got my this new planner for an early birthday present – my birthday isn’t until january 22, but since i won’t see liz for a while, she brought my birthday present home with her for the holidays! 🙂

i make TONS of lists, but to-do lists are my specialty! i think this planner’s layout will be perfect to put each days’ to-do list right there in the planner! i think i’m going to like this….

i’m also hoping to start working on a little project for the next couple of weeks.

i have subscriptions for 5 magazines: redbook, self, good housekeeping, oprah, and cosmopolitan (got cosmo for free when i signed up for one of the other ones…). since i joined a new gym with televisions on all of the cardio machines, i haven’t been keeping up with my subscriptions! it’s beginning to get a little ridiculous – i have some november issues left (that means i got them in the mail in OCTOBER). geez. i’m planning to read one magazine per night until my pile is finished.

it’s back to reality tomorrow so i also have to pack my breakfast and lunch to eat in lab.

do you pack lunches? what is you favorite thing to bring?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings, recipes, vegan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to pack it up, pack it in

  1. I subscribe to magazines to use on cardio equipment too. It’s the only time I really read them. I have quite the stack as well since I haven’t been able to do the gym much at the end of pregnancy. Hope to start working thruogh them again soon.

    And thanks for stopping by my blog! I love finding new blog friends to connect with. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      i bet you can’t wait to get back on those cardio machines after that baby finally comes! 🙂 and thank YOU for the comment – my first one!

  2. Becky says:

    The Willy St Co-op (there’s one on Williamson St on the east side and off of University on the west side) carries Farro! I just came across your blog – I am also a grad student in Madison ( in the school psychology program).

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

